Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer
SELECT YOUR STATE TO VIEW THE SPEEDING & TRAFFIC LAWS
Getting a speeding ticket in Tennessee is the last thing anyone wants to experience while on the road. Seeing those blue and red lights in your rear-view mirror can ruin your whole day. Most people who get a ticket figure that they have no other recourse but to pay it and move on. Others know they have the right to fight their ticket, but they choose not to thinking that it will be easier, faster, and less expensive to simply pay it and move on with their lives. Neither of these misconceptions are true.
Paying a ticket is the same as admitting to whatever violation you were charged with. That means you incur all the financial and legal ramifications that come with such a violation. Not only do you have to pay the initial fee, you also have to deal with things like an increase in your insurance rates, which will last for years, the cost of traffic school, and other fines and penalties. What’s more, in Tennessee, you can be required to appear in court and may have to pay additional court fees for certain violations, like speeding in a school zone.
When you start to tally up the long-term financial burden that comes with paying a speeding ticket, it’s not hard to see that fighting your ticket just might be the best option. If you choose to fight your speeding ticket, there are a couple of things you should do. First, you should get to know as much as you can about the basics of Tennessee speeding laws. Then, make sure to consult with a qualified traffic attorney in Tennessee to make sure you have the best chance of winning your case. The following information should help you accomplish both of these tasks.
In Tennessee, you can be ticketed for going just one mile over the speed limit. While this is true in most states, Tennessee seems to have slightly higher fees when it comes to what you’ll pay if you speed. Even if you were going no more than five miles per hour over the speed limit, you’ll be exposed to a fee of $42.75, as a baseline, and a minimum of one point will be added to your license. As you can imagine, the fees and points go up from there. If you fail to yield, you’ll pay a minimum of $82.75, and four points will be added to your license. It’s not hard to see how a few minor mistakes can add up to serious consequences and steep fees.
In Tennessee, you accrue points against your license for virtually every moving violation. As mentioned above, even if you speed just one mile per hour over the speed limit, you could incur a point against your license as well as a fee. In the state of Tennessee, you will accrue eight points for child endangerment, six points for reckless driving, four points for failure to yield, four points for improper passing, and between one and eight points for speeding. If you accrue 12 points against your license in as many months, the Department of Transportation will immediately suspend your driver’s license. It’s feasible that a single incident could cause you to incur 12 points, depending on how many violations you’re charged with. It only takes a couple of mistakes to wind up losing your license, paying court fees, and dealing with other ramifications that come from losing your license, like an inability to get to work.
Yes, and in most cases you should. It’s not hard to see that accruing any points against your license is cause for concern. What’s more, you could face steep fines and penalties, increased insurance rates, and other consequences that can last for years if you opt to pay your ticket. Fighting your ticket is almost always in your best interest. A qualified driving lawyer in Tennessee will be able to tell you what the best course of action is based on your specific situation.
For years, Ticket Void has worked with Tennessee drivers just like you, helping match them with the perfect attorney for their needs. By offering just a few pieces of information, you can help us match you with a Tennessee traffic lawyer who can help you fight your ticket, saving you a lot of financial hardship and time. Only a qualified attorney will be able to provide you with the best defense in court, so what are you waiting for? Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.