Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Alaska Drunk Driving Laws

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Alaska, you could be at a loss for what to do. Alaska DUI laws are complex, and so many variables go into each case that it’s impossible for one person to handle alone. That’s why the first thing you should do is find an Alaska DUI lawyer who can help you build the best defense when fighting your charges. Remember, you have just 7 days after your arrest to request a hearing to save your license, so don’t wait to find the right lawyer.

But don’t just blindly rely on your lawyer to handle everything for you. You need to educate yourself on Alaska DUI laws so you know exactly what’s going on with your case.

What Merits a DUI?

The most common reason for receiving a DUI is having a blood-alcohol-concentration over the legal limit. In Alaska, the legal BAC is .08%; anyone operating a motor vehicle with a higher BAC can be charged with a DUI.

But even if you’re not over the legal limit, you can still receive a DUI. If you’re on medications, illegal drugs, or any intoxicant that impairs your ability to drive, you could be arrested for DUI in Alaska. It’s important to gather all the facts surrounding your case, so the DUI lawyer can have as much evidence as possible.

Sorting Through Alaska DUI Penalties

The penalty for your DUI depends on a few different factors. Most importantly, how many prior DUI offenses do you have?

If it’s your first DUI conviction, you could serve anywhere from 3 days to one year in jail. Additionally, you could be required to perform 24 hours of community service as well as pay fines ranging from $250 to $5,000. Plus, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days.

If it’s your second DUI offense in Alaska, your license will automatically be suspended for a year without possibility of receiving a worker’s permit. On your third DUI offense, your license is taken away for three years.

DUI Penalties for Minors

One thing that you find in virtually every state is a zero tolerance policy for minors driving under the influence. At such a young age, the effects of alcohol on the individual are increased exponentially, placing everyone in serious danger. In Alaska, any person under the age of 21 who’s driving with a BAC of at least .02% faces severe penalties including long-term license suspension, jail time, and exorbitant fees.

Other Offenses

Alaska is different from some states in that it’s an implied consent state. This means that just being a licensed driver in Alaska gives officers consent to test you for suspicion of DUI. In other words, you can’t refuse the test like you can in some other states. If you do refuse to take the tests, you could receive another conviction on top of your DUI. This could result in higher fines, longer jail time, and longer suspension of license.

The First Step to Getting Past Your DUI

There’s no doubt that being arrested for a DUI in Alaska can leave you in a state of shock and confusion. But it’s important to act quickly because you’re on strict time constraints. The first step to getting past your DUI is to contact a well-qualified lawyer immediately. Just any old lawyer won’t do. You have to find one who works daily with DUI cases and who can give you a proper DUI defense.

That’s where we can help. Our database contains information on the top DUI defense lawyers in Alaska. They’re experts in the Alaska DUI laws, and they’ll give you the best defense possible. Click below on the city nearest you to begin the process for free.