Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Arkansas Speeding Laws

Getting a speeding ticket is inconvenient and expensive. But, if you’re caught speeding in Arkansas, you’ll likely be facing far more of a financial burden than the original cost of your ticket. You’ll also have to face increases in your insurance costs. In fact, studies have shown that your insurance rates can go up by as much as 18 percent after receiving a ticket for just one moving violation. What’s more, you’ll have to incur points against your license which can add up quickly. If you accumulate too many points, your license can be suspended or even revoked.

That’s why it’s so important to fight your speeding ticket. You have the legal right to present evidence, hire an Arkansas traffic attorney, and fight your speeding ticket in court. You should exercise that right in order to obtain the fairest outcome for your particular case. The first step in fighting your case is to understand the law so you know what you’re up against when you go to court. The second step is to hire a qualified traffic attorney in Arkansas to help you navigate the legal system and obtain the most beneficial results. The following information can help you with both.

Unique License Features in Arkansas

In most states, if you accrue points against your license they usually drop off after a year or two. However, in Arkansas, some of the points you accrue can stay on your license forever. That means no matter what you do you’ll always have points against your license, so any future points just add to those. Also, every moving violation results in at least one point against your license, so you could argue that it’s easier to obtain points against your license in Arkansas than it is in some other states. What’s more, the points system in Arkansas seems to be a bit stricter than in other states. In most states, speeding 10 miles per hour over the speed limit or less will only result in a point against your license, but in Arkansas you’ll incur three points for that. Let’s take a closer look at the Arkansas points system.

The Points System in Arkansas

In Arkansas, when you accrue 10 to 13 points against your license, you’ll get a warning letter from the state telling you that license suspension is just around the corner. If you accrue 14 to 17 points, your license will be taken away for a minimum of three months, and for 18 to 23 points you’ll have to go six months without driving. However, if you get 24 or more points against your license, your license will be taken away for an entire year.

You might be looking at those numbers thinking there’s no way you’d ever accrue that many points, but you’d be surprised how easy it is. For instance, racing will cost you eight points, failure to obey a traffic signal is three points, and speeding at 21 to 30 miles per hour above the posted speed limit is four points. So, if you were racing and blew through a traffic sign at 22 miles per hour over the speed limit, there’s 15 points right there.

But you’re not going to be racing, right? Let’s take a more conservative example. Let’s say that you were going 70 miles per hour in a 50 zone and went through a yellow light that was turning red just as you got to it. Depending on the officer who pulls you over, you could be looking at several moving violations. For one, 20 miles per hour over the speed limit is four points against your license. If you’re also accused of reckless driving, that’s eight more points, and if the officer dings you for not obeying a traffic signal, that’s three. Again, 15 points in a single incident.

It’s easy to see just how quickly these points can add up. However, it’s also easy to see that interpretation plays into the retelling of events, too. If an officer says you were driving recklessly but you have proof that nobody else was on the road, you might be able to use that in your defense. This openness to interpretation is exactly the reason you should fight your ticket and present your side of the case. Why take on all those points when you might be able to win your case and have all charges against you dropped?

Can You Fight a Speeding Ticket in Arkansas?

Not only can you, but you absolutely should. Gather as much evidence as you can to help you bolster your case. Things like weather conditions, photographs, and witness testimony can help you greatly when you go to fight your ticket in course. However, it’s also crucial that you hire an Arkansas traffic attorney to help you. Only a qualified traffic attorney in Arkansas will be able to help you obtain the best possible result given your individual circumstances.

Ticket Void has been working for years to help drivers just like you obtain the most qualified Arkansas traffic lawyer for the job. By entering just a few pieces of information, we’ll match you with the best attorney for your case. The consultation is free, so what do you have to lose? Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.