Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Louisiana Drunk Driving Laws

Navigating through Louisiana DUI/DWI laws can be confusing. If you’ve been charged with a DUI/DWI, you’re probably trying to figure out what you need to do to make sure your rights are protected.

Your first step should be to find a Louisiana DUI lawyer who will fight for you to ensure you aren’t wrongfully convicted of a crime you aren’t truly guilty for. It’s important to note that not every attorney understands Louisiana DWI laws completely. You need to find a specialist – someone who devotes their practice specifically to this section of the law.

You also need to take the time to learn more about Louisiana DUI/DWI laws for yourself. The more informed you are, the better able you’ll be to find the perfect attorney for your needs. And remember, in Louisiana you have just 15 days to request a hearing to save your license. So you need to get started now!

Louisiana DUI/DWI Basics

In Louisiana, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the most important facet of local DWI laws. If your BAC is .08% or higher while operating a motor vehicle, the law states you are impaired, and you’ll be arrested for a DWI.

However, this isn’t the only way DWI convictions arise. You can also be charged with a DWI if your BAC is between .05% and .07% if the officer believes there are other factors (drugs, medications) that are making you more impaired.

Louisiana DUI/DWI Penalties

When the officer placed you under arrest for a DWI, you undoubtedly wondered what penalties awaited you. Like other states, Louisiana DWI penalties get increasingly harsher for each subsequent conviction. Here are the basic penalty guidelines.

If this is your first DUI conviction, your license will be suspended for up to 90 days. You could also spend up to 6 months in jail, and you’ll pay fines up to $1,000 (not including court costs and other related fees.)

For your second DWI arrest, your license will be taken away for up to one full year. You’ll spend at least 2 days in jail, and you could stay behind bars for up to 6 months. Again, you’ll pay up to $100 in fines for your DWI conviction.

On your third DWI, your license will be suspended for up to 2 years. You will spend at least 30 days in jail, and it could land you behind bars for up to 5 years. Your fines will range up to $2,000, and you could lose your vehicle. Additionally, you’ll spend around a year in an alcohol abuse program.

Additional DWI arrests could cause you to be in jail for up to 30 years. You could also receive more severe penalties if you refuse to take any BAC tests during your traffic stop.

Louisiana DWI Lawyer

By now, the severity of a DWI conviction is Louisiana is clear. It should also be clear that you need a Louisiana DWI lawyer immediately following your arrest. Their expert guidance will prove invaluable as they organize all the facts to build your case. More importantly, hiring a DWI lawyer significantly improves your chances of saving your license and your freedom.

If you’ve never hired an attorney before, you might not know where to start. That’s why TicketVoid created this online directory featuring the top DUI lawyers in your area. It’s easy to get started, and it’s a FREE service. Just click on the city nearest you below, and you can choose from the top Louisiana DWI lawyers in your community. Get your freedom back today!