Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Arkansas Drunk Driving Laws

It’s normal to be confused and even scared after receiving a DUI or DWI in Arkansas. However, you can’t let your emotions cloud your judgment. Under Arkansas DUI laws, you have just 7 days to request a hearing to fight against having your license suspended. If you wait too long, your license will be suspended, leaving you with few alternatives.

What does this mean for you? It means you need to act fast after getting a DWI. The first step is to find an Arkansas DUI lawyer who understands Arkansas drinking and driving laws. Remember, not all attorneys specialize in drunk driving cases. Find one who does DWI and who does it well.

Also, you need to take the time to learn more about the local DWI laws. Why? Because it will help you have a better understanding of your case, helping you make better informed decisions.

Understanding Arkansas's DUI Limit

Like other states, the legal blood-alcohol-concentration limit for driving a personal vehicle in Arkansas is .08%. Anything at this level or higher qualifies as driving while intoxicated. But there are some exceptions to the rule. For example, if you’re operating a commercial vehicle, your BAC can’t be above .04%. For minors, the limit is .02%.

But that’s not all. If your driving is impaired because of other factors (medications, illegal drugs, etc.), you could also be charged for driving under the influence. In other words, if anything impairs your driving, you’re subject to being arrested.

Determining the Punishment

If you were charged with a DWI in Arkansas, one of the first thoughts to cross your mind was – How much trouble am I in? The answer: it all depends.

First, it depends on how many prior DWI convictions you have. If this is your first time to receive a DWI, you could spend anywhere from a day to a full year in jail. Not to mention fines up to $1000 and your license could be suspended for 120 days.

Is this your second DWI? If so, the penalties include 7 days to one year in jail, fines up to $3000, and 2 years suspension of your driver’s license.

For your third DWI conviction in Arkansas, you face 90 days to one year in jail, fines up to $5000, and suspension of your license for 30 months.

All subsequent DWI convictions are considered felonies, and the penalties are even more severe. If you refuse the tests, your license could be suspended for life.

Other Factors to Consider:

  • Are you a minor? If so, you could be charged as an adult for your DWI. The state of Arkansas has zero tolerance for minors who drink and drive. Remember, the legal limit for minors is a meager .02%.
  • Did you get in a crash? If you were involved in a car crash, the rules for DWI change. You could be charged with a DWI for having a BAC of .04 or higher. If the crash causes severe injuries or death, it could be treated as a severe felony.
  • Was your BAC over .18%? If so, the court could decide to outfit your car with an ignition interlock. This device prevents you from driving your car while intoxicated.

Talk to an Arkansas DUI Lawyer

With just 7 days after your arrest to get the ball rolling, it’s important to act fast. Every second you waste put your future in more jeopardy.

You need to find an attorney who has spent years interpreting Arkansas DWI laws and defending clients like you. With an experienced attorney, you’ll have someone on your side who can analyze the facts to construct a solid defense on your behalf.

Getting a great DUI attorney in Arkansas is easy! Simply click on the city nearest you below to get started.