Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer
SELECT YOUR STATE TO VIEW THE SPEEDING & TRAFFIC LAWS
All drivers are aware of the speed limits, but just about every driver has broken that speed limit at some point in their life. Most of the time it’s not a problem. However, if you get caught speeding, that’s when the real pain starts. If you’ve been pulled over for speeding in Rhode Island, you’re not alone. Millions of dollars in ticket fees are collected each year in Rhode Island for traffic-related offenses. However, the initial cost of your ticket is only the beginning. Once you start to consider the long-term consequences of speeding, it starts to become readily apparent that the inconvenience of getting a ticket isn’t over once the cop car pulls away. For one thing, your insurance rates will go up even if you only have a single moving violation on your record. Those insurance rate increases can last for two or three years, sometimes more. Add to that the fact that your ticket will stay on your record for a matter of years and it starts to become apparent that getting a ticket is far more costly than it initially seems.
While most people pay the ticket and move on just to put the ordeal behind them, it’s usually not in your best interest to do so. Instead, you should consider fighting your ticket. Doing so will save you the points against your license, the financial costs associated with your ticket, and will help you keep your record clean. If you’re going to fight your ticket, there are two things you should do: hire a Rhode Island traffic attorney and educate yourself on the basics of Rhode Island traffic law. The information in this article should help you do both.
One unique aspect of the Rhode Island speeding law is that most moving violations carry a flat fee of $75. However, if you speed, prepare to pay a higher fee. If you’re going 10 miles an hour over the posted speed limit or under, you’ll pay $85. However, if you’re traveling at 11 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit, that ticket price jumps to $195 plus $10 more for each additional mile per hour over the speed limit you’re going. So, in other words, if you’re traveling 63 miles per hour in a 50 miles-per-hour zone, you’ll be paying $195 for the initial 11 miles, plus $20 more since you’re going two more miles per hour over the speed limit beyond the initial 11. That means going 63 in a 50 could cost you a minimum of $215, and that’s before you factor in any of the other fees and consequences that may stem from your ticket.
While in most states you’ll have to worry about accumulating points against your license, in Rhode Island there is no points system. However, that doesn’t mean you’re off the hook. Rhode Island uses a ‘habitual offender’ label for those who get too many tickets within a certain time frame, have multiple DUI or DWIs, or who commit other traffic-related offenses too often. It’s just as important to keep a clean driving record in states that don’t use a points system as it is in other states.
Yes, and you should. While the absence of a points system might seem like a good reason to avoid going to court, the lack of a points system doesn’t do anything about the increased insurance rates or initial fees you’ll have to pay for speeding. It’s still worth it to hire an experienced traffic attorney in Rhode Island and fight your ticket. Keeping your driving record clean is important and will pay off in the long run.
Many people find the legal system intimidating, though, and hiring a lawyer seems like a scary process for some. That’s why Ticket Void has been working for years with Rhode Island drivers just like you, helping them find the perfect attorney for their case. With just a few pieces of information from you, we can help match you with a qualified Rhode Island traffic lawyer in our network. We’ll send you their information, and your initial consultation is free. You have nothing to lose, so get started today and exercise your right to fight.