Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer
SELECT YOUR STATE TO VIEW THE SPEEDING & TRAFFIC LAWS
Getting a ticket is never fun, but getting one in Virginia could be more painful than usual. The reason is because Virginia has some of the highest fees in the country when it comes to moving violations. What’s more, Virginia is quite aggressive about collecting those fines and penalties, which can worsen an already tense and stressful situation. All of that is bad enough, but you’ll also experience insurance rate increases after you receive a ticket, even if it’s your first one. You’ll also accrue points against your license, which will stay on your record for two years after the date of the violation. You can always opt to take defensive driving courses in order to mitigate some of the points on your record, but in Virginia those courses start at around $48, which will come out of your pocket.
It’s not hard to see that a single traffic ticket can lead to long-term consequences, both financially and time-wise, and it would be in your best interest to fight your ticket. In most cases, fighting your ticket is the best option because it affords you the opportunity to present evidence that supports your case and to tell your side of the story. If you decide you want to fight your ticket, consult with a Virginia traffic attorney, and learn as much as you can about Virginia traffic law. The following information should help you do both of these things.
In Virginia, if you choose to pay your ticket you have to do so within 40 days. If you don’t, the state will add additional interest to your already high fee, plus they’ll turn you into a debt collection agency, which just adds more stress to your plate. If you’re deemed to be a ‘repeat offender’ of sorts, you may be told to go to a driving clinic put on by the state. Other punishments and consequences may also follow, up to and include license suspension, depending on the nature of your violation and the status of your driving record at the time the violation occurred.
Every moving violation in Virginia is assigned either three, four, or six points. If you accumulate 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months, your license will be suspended. You will receive a warning letter in advance explaining the importance of following the law and telling you how many points you have remaining before your license gets suspended. Even if it’s you first suspension, the minimum suspension time in Virginia is 90 days. Obviously, that can put a serious drain on your finances and your life in general, considering that not having your car could stop you from being able to get to work. It’s not hard to see that just two six-point violations within a year could cause you to have your license suspended for three months.
Yes, and in almost every case you should. Not only with you spare yourself the hefty financial burden of the ticket itself, but you’ll prevent insurance rate increases, time spent in driver education courses, the addition of points to your license, and other serious consequences that come from a conviction. If you pay your traffic ticket, you’re admitting to the violation, and you won’t have any further legal recourse. That’s why it’s so important to consider fighting your ticket. You should also consider hiring a Virginia traffic attorney, since only a qualified traffic lawyer can help you present the best defense possible.
Ticket Void has been working with Virginia drivers just like you like you for years. We’ve developed a system that helps you find the best Virginia traffic lawyer for your particular case. By providing just a few pieces of information, we can scan through our database of highly qualified and experienced attorneys and email you the information for one who will be able to help you most effectively. The consultation is free, so what do you have to lose? Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.