Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer
SELECT YOUR STATE TO VIEW THE SPEEDING & TRAFFIC LAWS
Getting a speeding ticket in Michigan is more than just an inconvenience. Tickets are expensive, but the true cost of a ticket extends far beyond that initial fee. When you get a ticket for speeding or any other moving violation, you’ll have to pay the initial fine, deal with increased insurance rates, have to face the possibility of losing your license or having it suspended, and incur points against your license. Getting a single speeding ticket can raise your insurance rates by as much as 18 percent, and many of those rate increases stick around for up to two or three years. Depending on how many moving violations you have on your record and what types of violations they are, a ticket can even hinder you from getting a car loan or obtaining a new vehicle. When you start to tally the true cost of a ticket, it becomes obvious that fighting your speeding ticket is in your best interest.
In many states, the points system seems to be rather arbitrary. However, in Michigan, the points system is based on the severity of the moving violation you’re charged with. In other words, it could only take a single incident or mistake to land you in serious trouble. The more serious the violation, the higher the number of points you’ll be assigned and have to have on your record. What’s even worse is that those points stay there for two years from the date of your conviction, so if you pay the fine, you have two years from that date where you’ll have to be very careful. If you get another ticket, it could mean the suspension or revocation of your license.
As mentioned above, every moving violation in Michigan is assigned a points value. In certain situations you may be offered a one-time opportunity to delete points from your record by completing what Michigan calls a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC). After you get four points against your record you’ll receive a letter telling you that you need to change your driving habits. At eight points, you’ll get a warning letter, and at 12 points you’ll have to go to one of the several Driver Reexamination offices in the state of Michigan. Driver Reexamination agents will review your driving record in your presence and make a decision as to whether your license should be suspended or revoked. Most of the time one or the other will happen, as most people who are called to the Driver Reexamination office are not typically allowed another chance to change their ways before having their driving privileges amended.
Depending on the violation, you can earn anywhere from two to six points on your license. Reckless driving, driving under the influence, and refusing to take a chemical test if you’re pulled over under suspicion of driving under the influence are all six-point offenses. However, failing to stop and give identification at the scene of an accident is also a six-point offense. Even if you’re thinking that you’d never do any of those things, traveling at just 16 miles per hour over the speed limit is a four-point offense. That means if you travel 56 miles per hour in a 40 mile-per-hour zone just once (assuming you’re ticketed for it), you’ll get a letter advising you to change your ways.
As you can see, you don’t necessarily have to do something completely wild in order to accrue enough points to land yourself in some trouble. Add to that the ambiguity that exists in some of the moving violation names (i.e. three points for ‘careless driving’) and it gets even harder to tell just how many points you could end up accruing for a single event. For instance, what if you go 56 miles per hour in a 40 and the officer says you were driving carelessly, too. There’s seven points for a single incident.
Once you take all of this into consideration, it becomes obvious that fighting even a single speeding ticket is worth it in the long run.
Absolutely, and you should. Fighting your ticket can help you avoid the long-term, costly consequences that paying your ticket can lead to. Of course, you’ll want to hire an experienced Michigan traffic attorney. Only a traffic lawyer in Michigan can look at the details of your individual case and help craft the best possible defense for you. Your attorney can help get your ticket voided or, at the very least, lower many of the penalties and consequences you would otherwise face.
For years, Ticket Void has been working with Michigan drivers just like you, helping them find the best attorney for their case. By providing just a few pieces of information, you’ll be emailed the information for a Michigan traffic lawyer that’s just right for your case. The initial consultation is free, so you have nothing to lose. Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.