Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Texas Drunk Driving Laws

If you’ve been charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or DUI, it’s imperative that you find an experienced Texas DUI lawyer to defend you in court. Not only is your freedom at stake, but also your ability to drive, to find a job, and to take care of your family is in jeopardy. Texas DUI and DWI laws are complex, and not every lawyer is equipped to handle such a case. For this reason, you need to work with a legal expert who knows Texas DWI laws inside and out.

Here are a few of the main points of Texas DWI laws:

  • Legal Limit – In the state of Texas a DWI conviction requires a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above, anyone found to be at or above the BAC of .08 % while driving is legally intoxicated and subject to being charged with Driving under the Influence (DUI) or DWI. However, the legal limit isn’t the only prerequisite for receiving a DWI, drivers should be aware that any driver can be cited for ‘driving while impaired’ by drugs or lower concentrations of alcohol. In addition, drugs, alcohol or a controlled substance in one’s body that causes loss or use of mental capacity or physical motor skills is also considered intoxication.
  • Punishment – While many factors determine what your exact punishment will be for driving under the influence in Texas, the majority of cases fall within 3 basic categories. They are as follows:
    • First Offense – With your first DWI offense in Texas, you can receive fines up to $2000. You can also be placed in jail for anywhere from 72 hours to 6 months. Lastly, your license will be suspended at minimum 90 days and up to one year.
    • Second Offense – If this is your second DWI offense, the consequences are a bit more serious. You now face up to a $4000 fine, and can spend from 30 days to one year in jail. Additionally, your license will be suspended between 6 months and 2 years.
    • Third Offense – Texas DWI laws really have no tolerance for third time offenders. At this point, your fine will be up to $10,000. Your jail sentence will range from 2 to 10 years, and your license will be revoked for 6 months to 2 years.
  • Driving with a Minor – Driving while under the influence is dangerous enough as is, but doing it with a passenger who’s a minor is a felony in the state of Texas. If you get charged with DWI while having a passenger 15 years old or younger, you face jail time of no less than 3 months and no more than 2 years. Furthermore, you can be fined up to $10,000.
  • Under Age DWI – Texas DWI laws have a zero tolerance policy of underage drinking and driving. If you’re under the age of 21 and you get caught operating a vehicle with the presence of alcohol, your license will be suspended for 60 days, you can be fined up to $500, you must complete 20 to 40 hours of community service, and you must attend an alcohol awareness course.

Final Word on Texas DUI/DWI Laws

The bottom line with a DWI in Texas is this: you must take these charges seriously. Get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area immediately. Though their expert guidance, you can develop a plan for tackling this serious legal issue. To find an experience DWI lawyer in your area, click on the city nearest you: