Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Close this search box.

Call Us: 1-888-296-3059

Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer

By clicking "Submit" you agree that you will be contacted by a legal representative, participating attorney, or affiliate via phone, email or SMS (Msg & Data rates may apply) about your interest in finding an attorney. Consent is not a requirement of purchase.


Connecticut Drunk Driving Laws

Have you been charged with a DUI in Connecticut? If so, your head might be spinning trying to figure out what your next step should be. The most important first step is to find an attorney to manage your case. Remember, not every attorney is experienced in DUI cases. That’s why you need to find a lawyer who specializes in Connecticut DUI laws, giving you the best defense possible.

In Connecticut, you have just 7 short days to request a hearing to fight for your license. If you miss this deadline, your license will surely be suspended. So, finding an experienced Connecticut DUI lawyer fast is your top priority.

Of course, educating yourself on Connecticut DUI laws is also important so that you always understand exactly what’s going on with your case.

Connecticut DUI Laws - Basics

The best place to start is with the basics of Connecticut DUI law. First, it’s important to note that you can receive a DUI without reaching a specific blood alcohol concentration (BAC.) If you’re found to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you could be charged for driving under the influence. Poor driving, failure of field sobriety tests, and other factors can be used in lieu of your BAC to show you’re driving is impaired.

The other important part of Connecticut DUI laws is the BAC. In Connecticut, if you’re operating a vehicle with a BAC of at least .08%, you will be arrested for drunk driving. Remember, your level of impairment doesn’t matter when it comes to BAC. Even if you pass the field sobriety tests, your BAC still trumps all else.

What DUI Penalty are You Facing?

Even though there are many factors that determine your exact punishment, the basic guidelines for DUI penalties in Connecticut are as follows:

If this is your first DUI offense, you could pay fines up to $1,000. Additionally, you will spend anywhere from 2 days to 6 months in jail. However, you may have the option to perform 100 hours instead of jail time. Finally, your license will be suspended for one year.

If this is your second DUI offense, you will be placed in jail for 120 days to 2 years. Your fines could total up to $4,000, and you’ll perform 100 hours of community service. Plus, your license could be suspended for up to 3 years.

By the time you get to your third DUI conviction, the penalties are difficult to handle. Your fines will be around $8,000, and you could spend up to 3 years in jail. Most importantly, your license will be permanently revoked.

DUI Penalties for Minors

Connecticut has no tolerance for minors who drink and drive, and their penalties for minors are proof of that. If you’re under 21 and you’re found with any alcohol in your system, your license could be suspended for 3 years or until you reach age 21. You could also face the same fines that adults must endure.

Connecticut DUI Lawyers

The bottom line is this: Connecticut doesn’t play around when it comes to drinking and driving. With that in mind, you can’t play around when it comes to your DUI defense. You have to find a qualified attorney who is an expert in Connecticut DUI laws and who spends every day defending your rights.

Finding a lawyer doesn’t have to be hard. At TicketVoid, we match you with the top DUI lawyers in your area for FREE. The only thing you need to do is choose the one you feel most comfortable with. To get started, simply click on the city nearest you below.