Complete the form to schedule a free consultation with a traffic lawyer
SELECT YOUR STATE TO VIEW THE SPEEDING & TRAFFIC LAWS
Getting a speeding ticket in Connecticut can cost you more than the initial fine associated with your ticket. However, most people don’t think about the long-term ramifications of paying a speeding ticket. They just want to get the ordeal over as quickly as possible, pay the ticket, and move on with their day. However, you might want to consider fighting your speeding ticket in Connecticut. Doing so can save you a lot of time and money down the road.
The initial cost of your speeding ticket is just the beginning. Most insurance companies will increase your insurance rates after you get a moving violation. Given that insurance rates rise every year even if you have a perfect record, you don’t need that extra increase. In fact, studies have shown that even a single ticket can raise your rates as much as 18 percent. Add to that the fact that you’ll have points added to your license and the situation gets even worse. Of course, you could always attend traffic school to have your points removed, but that’s another cost that comes right out of your pocket.
Fighting your ticket is almost always the best way to go. However, you should learn as much as you can about Connecticut speeding laws before you head into the courtroom. Learning about the law can give you a better understanding of what you’re up against. You should also consider hiring a Connecticut traffic attorney to help you. Only an experienced attorney will be able to look at your individual case and present the best possible defense on your behalf. Here are some basic facts and laws you should know to help you get started.
There are five types of moving violations you can receive in the state of Connecticut. Each of these violations comes with a prescribed number of points, also ranging from one to five. You’ll receive one point for traveling at speed in excess of the posted speed limit. If you run a red light or stop sign, you’ll get two points added against your license. Driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is a three-point violation, and passing a stopped school bus is four points. Finally, if you’re operating a motor vehicle and your actions result in someone’s death, you’ll have five points added to your license.
Connecticut is different from most states in the way they tally points. Most states only allow you to accrue so many points during a given period of time, usually anywhere between a year and three years. However, in Connecticut you can only get 10 points total, regardless of time span, before your license is suspended for 30 days. If you get up to 10 points again within the next five years, your license will be suspended until you get your total number of points below 10. Usually, that means attending traffic school, which is more money you’ll have to pay. Your other option is to wait the year or two it takes for points to be removed from your license automatically, but can you really afford to go that long without the ability to drive?
It’s clear that fighting your ticket is the best option. You need to keep your driving record as clean as possible, especially in Connecticut where the law looks at your total accumulated points.
You can, and you definitely should in most cases. Investing in your defense can save you years of fees and hassle, and it can keep your driving record clean. In Connecticut, you’ll have to hire your own traffic attorney, since one won’t be appointed to you for traffic cases. However, don’t let that intimidate you. Ticket Void has been working with drivers just like you for years, helping match them with the best Connecticut traffic attorney for the job. Just enter a few basic pieces of information, and we’ll email you the contact information for a Connecticut traffic lawyer that’s just right for you. Your initial consultation is free, so you have nothing to lose but your ticket. Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.