Driving on a suspended license is a serious infraction no matter where you live. While each state has varying degrees of penalties and slightly different laws where driving is concerned, nearly all states consider driving on a suspended license to be a criminal charge. While civil charges, like running a stop sign or driving a few miles per hour over the speed limit, can be annoying and come with hefty fees, criminal charges are much more serious. Here’s what you can expect if you get caught driving on a suspended license.
In most cases you absolutely will be arrested. If you’re driving on a suspended license, it’s very unlikely that the office who pulls you over is going to let you continue driving on that suspended license and trust that you’ll go straight home. While not every situation will lead to arrest and while state laws may allow for different penalties, you could risk arrest depending on the reason you had your license suspended in the first place.
In most cases, whether or not you’re arrested, your vehicle will be impounded if you are caught driving on a suspended license. Most legal administrators consider driving on a suspended license to be evidence that you as a driver can’t be trusted to follow the laws. Therefore, they have no reason to believe that you won’t repeat the same infraction. Their only choice, at that point, is to take away your car.
Another possible outcome of getting caught driving on a suspended license is that you’ll have to pay some very hefty fines. These fines can range anywhere from $200 to over $1,000, and they’ll most certainly come along with other fines and penalties, as well. You will almost never get away with just a fine if you’re caught driving with a suspended license.
If you only had a suspended license to begin with, your license can be entirely revoked if you’re caught driving during your suspension. The logic behind this penalty is similar to the logic behind vehicle impoundment. By breaking the law and driving on a suspended license, you’ve betrayed the trust of law enforcement agencies and will therefore lose your license altogether.
In some states, like Florida and New York, there are mandatory jail sentences for people who are caught driving on a suspended license. In New York it’s a 30-day jail sentence, but in Florida it’s 90 days. Other states have other mandatory minimum sentences in place for those who choose to drive on a suspended license, as well. In some states you can spend up to a year in jail for driving with a suspended license depending on the specific circumstances of your case.
Going to jail could be the least of your concerns. If you’re caught driving with a suspended license and your original license suspension meets certain criteria (depending on your state), you could be charged with a felony. Not only will you likely have to pay fines, go to jail, and appear in court, but you could face criminal prosecution and prison sentences, as well.
As you can see, the costs of driving with a suspended license are just not worth the risk. However, if you’ve already been caught driving with a suspended license, don’t feel like all is lost. You may have some legal resources at your disposal, and a defense might still be possible. At Ticket Void, we’ve been helping drivers like you get the help they need for years. We help pair you with the perfect attorney for your case so you have the best defense possible.
With just a few pieces of information, we can find a qualified and experienced attorney in your area who’s a great match for your specific case. We’ll email you their information so you can call them right away. Your initial consultation is free, so what do you have to lose? Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.