It’s your responsibility as a motorist to know the traffic laws in your state. If you’re driving in Massachusetts, being aware of the law is your legal obligation, and claiming ignorance of the law will not be a valid excuse if you break it. While the law is vast and complex, there are a few things that pertain to nearly every driver at some point. Knowing these five laws can help you drive responsibly and avoid a ticket while driving in Massachusetts.
In the state of Massachusetts, anyone 13 years of age of older must be wearing a seatbelt at all times whether you’re a passenger or the driver. There are some exceptions to the seatbelt requirement, however, including but not limited to the following circumstances.
Anyone under the age of 18 is prohibited from using a cell phone or mobile device of any kind while driving. If you’re under 18 and you absolutely have to use your phone, you have to pull over and turn your car off in order to do so. All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while driving. Doing so can cost you hefty fines and, if injuries result, can even lead to jail time.
here are certain situations in which you must have your headlights on when driving in Massachusetts. Here are the most common situations in which you’re required by law to use your headlights.
There aren’t any situations in which you can be ticketed for using your regular headlights, so it’s always best to be safe and use them if you’re in doubt.
The requirements regarding the use of helmets depends on what you’re driving and, in some cases, how old you are. If you’re driving a motorcycle, moped, or motorized scooter, every rider is required by law to wear a helmet. The helmet you wear has to provide the minimum protection as required by law. Check with the Department of Transportation for the current requirements.
For those operating an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), every rider must wear an approved helmet. You can check with the Department of Transportation for ATV helmet requirements, as well.
If you’re riding a bicycle and you’re 16 years of age or younger, the law requires that you wear helmets when on public ways, bicycle paths, and public rights-of-way. However, all bicyclists should wear helmets at all times as a matter of safety, even if there is no law dictating that you do so.
The Massachusetts Child Passenger Restraint Law includes the following criteria.
These are the basic laws as set out by the Massachusetts Child Passenger Restraint Law. However, nuances may exist for toddlers, infants, and other ages. Some weight requirements exist, as well. Check with Chapter 3: Safety First section of the Massachusetts law to make sure you’re in compliance in order to keep your child passengers safe.
As you can see, there are multiple areas of the law you need to be aware of as you’re driving in Massachusetts. Make sure to consult the Massachusetts Driver’s Manual to ensure you’re in compliance when out on the road. Of course, accidents happen and everyone makes mistakes. If you need legal representation due to a ticket, charge, or accident, make sure to contact a qualified traffic attorney in Massachusetts. Only an experienced attorney will be able to help you obtain the best possible outcome.