Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Wyoming Drunk Driving Laws

There's no doubt that being charged with a DUI in Wyoming can put you in a state of confusion and even panic. But you don't have time to sit around trying to sort everything out. With an administrative hearing to save your license coming just days after your arrest, the time to take action is now.

To get your case started on the right foot, you need to enlist the services of a Wyoming DUI lawyer. Remember, not every attorney practices this highly specialized branch of the law, so you need to make certain the lawyer you choose is an experienced DUI specialist with a successful track record.

And since it's your freedom that hangs in the balance, you need to be fully dedicated to your case. The only way to ensure you make the right decisions regarding your defense is to educate yourself on Wyoming DUI laws. The overview below contains all the information you need to get started.

Wyoming DUI Basics

In Wyoming, there are two basic theories used to prosecute DUI cases. The first method is done so according to per se laws. Per se laws dictate that anyone operating a vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher will be charged with a DUI. It doesn't matter if the driver appears to be impaired or not; the body chemistry is all that matters.

Even though this might appear to be an impartial way of determining one's guilt, the truth is BAC tests aren't always accurate. If the calibration of the machine is slightly off or the machine is simply outdated, there is a significant margin of error in the test results. That's why it's important to have an experienced lawyer on your team who can analyze this evidence for accuracy.

The other method of trying DUI cases is according to the common law theory. In these cases, body chemistry isn't important. What is important is the officer's judgment. Officers may use circumstantial evidence (driving patterns, field sobriety tests, and the driver's appearance during the traffic stop) to determine if one's driving under the influence. Of course, this is a highly subjective way of confirming one's guilt, and it should be challenged in court.

Wyoming DUI Penalties

Wyoming DUI laws are harsh. The state enforces tough penalties to help curtail this hazardous behavior. The guidelines for Wyoming DUI penalties are as follows:

If this is your first DUI offense, your penalties include up to $750 in fines, up to 6 months in jail, and your license will be suspended for 90 days.

For your second DUI offense, you'll be behind bars for 7 days to 6 months. Your fines will range up to $750, and your license will be taken away for one year. The court may also demand that you install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

If this is your third DUI offense, your penalties include the following: 30 days to 6 months in jail, up to $3000 in fines, and your license will be suspended for 3 years.

Talk to a Wyoming DUI Lawyer

Now that you understand the penalties you're facing, the need for an experienced DUI lawyer is clear. Make sure the lawyer you choose is devoted to giving your case the personal attention it deserves.

Thankfully, Ticket Void makes finding the best Wyoming DUI lawyers easy. You can get started today simply by selecting the city nearest you from the list below. Get the defense you deserve today!