Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Vermont Drunk Driving Laws

Over the past 10 years, Vermont has seen the largest decline in the number of alcohol-related traffic accidents in the nation. Why has this happened? It's happened because Vermont has initiated a tough stance against drinking and driving. Their DUI laws are among the harshest in the nation, and they do everything in their power to crack down on those who drink and drive.

That's why you need to take all DUI charges seriously. As soon as you're arrested for a DUI in Vermont, your first call should be to a lawyer. Remember, not all lawyers handle DUI cases. It's a highly specialized branch of the law that requires an expert. Make sure the lawyer you hire is a DUI specialist.

But don't just rely on your Vermont DUI lawyer to do all the work for you. Remember, it's your license and your freedom that's on the line. Commit to your case by spending time familiarizing yourself with Vermont DUI laws. The greater understanding you have of these laws, the better informed your decision making process will be.

Vermont DUI Basics

In Vermont, DUI cases may be prosecuted according to 2 theories. The first theory is that anyone driving a vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher will be arrested. In these cases, body chemistry is the only thing that matters. Even if you don't seem impaired at all, a BAC of .08% or higher will land you in the slammer. While this seems like a scientific way of determining one's guilt, it isn't always foolproof. BAC tests may be skewed by outside factors, causing some individuals to be wrongly arrested for DUI. Make sure the lawyer you hire has the experience and the knowledge to properly dissect this evidence.

The other method of prosecuting DUI cases is known as the impairment theory. Under this theory, your BAC doesn't have to be one that violates the law. An officer may determine your drunk by viewing circumstantial evidence. This evidence includes driving patterns, performance on roadside sobriety tests, and your behavior during the traffic stop. It doesn't take a lawyer to see that this evidence is highly subjective, and it should be challenged in court.

Vermont DUI Penalties

As soon as the officer informed you that you were being arrested, you probably wondered what penalties you were facing. While every case is different, the Vermont DUI penalty guidelines are as follows:

If this is your first DUI offense, your penalties include fines up to $750, jail time up to 2 years, and a license suspension of 6 months.

For your second DUI offense, you face the following penalties: fines up to $1500, jail time up to 2 years, community service, and a driver's license suspension of 18 months.

If this is your third DUI conviction, your penalties are even stiffer. They include a lifetime driver's license suspension. Your fines will go up to $2500, and you'll spend up to 5 years behind bars.

Keep in mind that Vermont doesn't have a washout period like other states. This means that all DUI offenses stay on your record permanently.

Finding Vermont DUI Lawyers

In light of the penalties you're up against, it's critical that you hire an experienced DUI lawyer immediately. Their guidance will prove invaluable as you stand before the judge fighting to preserve your freedom.

And finding the right lawyer for your needs is easy. With Ticket Void, all you have to do is select the city nearest you from the list below. You'll then have access to all the top DUI lawyers in your community. Get the defense you deserve today! TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.