Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Utah Drunk Driving Laws

If you've been arrested for a DUI in Utah, the time for action is now. You have just 10 days after the date of your arrest to file a petition to save your driver's license. If you fail to meet this deadline, your license will automatically be suspended.

That's why you need to find a Utah DUI lawyer immediately following your arrest. DUI lawyers understand the intricacies of Utah drinking and driving laws, and they'll ensure you meet all deadlines and you receive a proper defense. Remember, not all lawyers practice this area of the law, so you need to find a specialist who handles DUI cases on a regular basis.

But it's not enough to hire a lawyer to make all the decisions for you. After all, it's your freedom and your license that hangs in the balance. Therefore, devote yourself fully to your case by learning more about Utah DUI laws. With the help of this overview, you'll have the information you need to make informed decisions regarding your defense.

Utah DUI Basics

Like most other states, there are 2 theories for prosecuting DUIs in Utah. The first theory is based on per se laws. In these cases, body chemistry is the only thing that matters. If your BAC tests determined you were above the legal limit of .08% while driving, you'll be arrested for a DUI. Someone who doesn't know any better will assume these tests are a sure sign of their guilt. However, the fact is BAC tests aren't always accurate. The results can be distorted due to various outside factors. It's the job of your Utah DUI lawyer to analyze this evidence for accuracy.

The other method of prosecuting DUI cases is based on circumstantial evidence. In these cases, you don't even have to test above the legal limit to be arrested for a DUI. Instead, the officer may prove you're drunk by viewing your driving patterns, your performance on roadside tests, and your behavior during the traffic stop. Clearly, how one interprets this evidence is highly subjective, and your lawyer should scrutinize this judgment in court.

It's also important to note that Utah has implied consent laws. This means that by being a licensed driver you already gave your consent to have your BAC tested at any time an officer demands. If you refuse to submit to such a test, your license can be taken away on the spot.

Utah DUI Penalties

By now, you're undoubtedly wondering what penalties you could be facing. While each case is unique, the guidelines for Utah DUI penalties are as follows:

Your first DUI conviction carries the following penalties: at least 48 hours in jail, at least $700 in fines, participation in alcohol or drug screening, and at least 90 days license suspension.

For your second DUI conviction, your penalties include at least $800 in fines, a minimum of 10 days in jail, and a one year driver's license suspension.

If this is your third DUI, you'll be placed in jail for about 2 months (at minimum.) You'll also pay at least $1500 in fines, and your license will be taken away for a minimum of one year.

Keep in mind, all of these penalties may be enhanced if you refused the BAC test, you had a minor in the vehicle with you, and/or you caused an injury while driving under the influence.

Utah DUI Lawyers

With your freedom hanging in the balance, the importance of a DUI lawyer is clear. Make sure the lawyer you choose is committed to giving your case the personal attention it needs.

Find the lawyer that's right for your needs by clicking on the city nearest you below!