Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

South Carolina Drunk Driving Laws

When it comes to DUI cases, South Carolina is one of the most advanced states in the country. Their mandatory videotaping laws make them highly unique when it comes to prosecuting DUI cases. Accordingly, the state's laws and penalties are among the most complex and the strictest.

That's why you need to hire a South Carolina DUI lawyer as soon as you're arrested for drunk driving. A DUI lawyer has the experience and insight to assess all the evidence surrounding your case. With their guidance, you'll be assured of having the best defense possible.

However, you need to do more than simply put the case in your lawyer's hands. Remember, it's your freedom that's on the line. For this reason, you should take an active interest in your case by learning more about South Carolina DUI laws. By having information to guide your decision making process, you'll improve your chances of receiving a positive outcome to your case.

South Carolina DUI Basics

South Carolina DUI laws are some of the most complex in the nation. Most cases are usually tried according to BAC test results. Anyone driving a motor vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher will instantly be charged with a DUI. If you don't know better, you'd probably say this is a fair way of proving one's guilt. However, BAC tests simply aren't foolproof. The results can be skewed due to various outside factors. Therefore, it's the job of your DUI lawyer to make certain this evidence is vetted for accuracy.

South Carolina also has implied consent laws. This means that every licensed driver in the state has given their consent to submit to BAC tests at any time an officer so orders. If you refuse to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test, your license could be taken away on the spot. Furthermore, your penalties could be enhanced due to this behavior.

South Carolina also has unique laws that mandate every DUI arrest is videotaped. This is light years ahead of most states as videotapes are the most honest form of evidence. In short, the videotape can't lie.

South Carolina DUI Penalties

Sitting in jail, your first thought was probably 'What penalties am I facing?' While each case is unique, the guidelines for South Carolina DUI penalties are as follows:

If this is your first DUI offense, your penalties include $400 in fines, up to 30 days in jail, community service, and your license will be suspended for 6 months.

For your second drunk driving offense, you face the following penalties: fines up to $5100, one year license suspension, 5 days to one year in jail, and possible installation of ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

For your third DUI offense, the penalties include a 2 year suspension of your license, fines up to $6300, 60 days to 3 years behind bars, and your name will be published to the public as a DUI offender.

South Carolina DUI Lawyer

With the complexity of South Carolina DUI laws, you need to have a skilled attorney in your corner who can dissect all the evidence. Remember, not all lawyers practice this specialized area of the law. Make sure your lawyer is a DUI expert who handles these cases on a regular basis.

At Ticket Void, we have all the best South Carolina DUI lawyers in one easy to use directory. Simply click on the city nearest you in the list below, and you'll have access to the top drunk driving defense lawyers in your community! TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.