Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Oregon Drunk Driving Laws

If you've been charged with a DUI (driving under the influence of intoxicants) in Oregon, the time to take action is now. If you don't take immediate action, you risk losing your license and your freedom.

For this reason, you need to find an Oregon DUI lawyer to represent you immediately. Remember, Oregon's drinking and driving laws are complex, and not every lawyer specializes in this area of the law. Therefore, you need to ensure the attorney you hire is a DUI specialist who handles cases like this on a daily basis.

But just hiring a lawyer isn't enough. You also need to take an active interest in your case. The best way to do this is to inform yourself about Oregon DUI laws. By understanding the legalities surrounding your case, you'll be able to make informed decisions regarding your defense. Get your DUI education started by reading the overview of state laws below.

Oregon DUI Basics

Oregon DUI cases are typically prosecuted by one of two methods. The first method uses visual evidence to convict you of drunk driving. Typically, the case relies on an officer's testimony regarding your driving patterns, physical appearance during the traffic stop, and performance on various field sobriety tests. Of course, one person's judgment is highly subjective, and your DUI lawyer will challenge its accuracy.

The other method of prosecuting DUI cases is based more on circumstantial evidence. Officers may use your driving patterns, your performance on roadside tests, and/or your general behavior during the traffic stop to determine if you're intoxicated. It doesn't take a DUI expert to see that this is a highly subjective way of proving one's guilt. Accordingly, your DUI lawyer should challenge this judgment to ensure your rights are fully protected.

You should also know that Oregon has implied consent DUI laws. This means that all licensed drivers have given the state their consent to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if ordered by officers. If you refuse to submit to such a test, your license could be suspended immediately and your penalties enhanced.

Oregon DUI Penalties

Oregon has some of the harshest DUI penalties in the country. The basic guidelines for Oregon DUI penalties are as follows.

If this is your first DUI offense, your penalties include a one year driver's license suspension, 48 hours in jail (and/or 80 hours community service), minimum fines of $1000, and mandatory alcohol evaluation.

If this is your second DUI offense, your penalties include 1 to 6 years jail time, fines up to $2500, and a 6 month suspension of your driver's license.

If you're a second time DUI offender (within 5 years,) your penalties include 3 years license suspension, up to one year in jail, minimum fines of $1500, and mandatory alcohol evaluation. On your third DUI offense, your penalties will be as follows: permanent license revocation, up to one year in jail, minimum fines of $2000, and mandatory alcohol evaluation.

Keep in mind, other fees will be tacked onto your fine. By the time you're done paying the various diagnostic and assessment fees, the cost could empty out your wallet.

Oregon DUI Lawyer

Due to the penalties you're facing, the importance of hiring an Oregon DUI lawyer is clear. With an experienced attorney in your corner, you give yourself the best chance of receiving the verdict you desire. Their ability to analyze evidence and to focus your defense will prove invaluable in the courtroom.

And finding the right lawyer for your needs is fast and easy. Ticket Void's directories contain listings of all the top Oregon DUI lawyers. Simply select the city nearest your from the list below, and you'll have access to the best lawyers in your community!