Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Oklahoma Drunk Driving Laws

If you've been charged with a DUI in Oklahoma, time is ticking. You have just 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing to save your license. If you fail to meet this deadline, your license and your freedom could be in jeopardy.

For this reason, you should hire an Oklahoma DUI lawyer as soon as you're arrested. Take our word for it, you don't want to step into the courtroom on your own. An experienced DUI lawyer has the unique insight that comes from handling these cases on a daily basis. Having one in your corner will give you the best chance of receiving the verdict you desire.

But it's not enough to just hire a DUI lawyer. You need to be an active participant in your case as well. The best way to start is by educating yourself on Oklahoma DUI laws. With a little knowledge, you'll be equipped to make informed decisions regarding your drunk driving defense.

Oklahoma DUI Basics

Oklahoma DUI cases are typically prosecuted under two basic theories. The first theory is based solely on your body chemistry. No matter how well you might be driving; if your BAC is above the legal limit of .08%, you'll be charged with a DUI. At first glance, this might seem like a fair, foolproof way to prove an individual is drunk. Unfortunately, BAC tests aren't always accurate, and they're susceptible to influence from outside factors. That's why it's important to have a DUI specialist on your team who can analyze this evidence for veracity.

The other method of prosecuting DUI cases is based more on circumstantial evidence. Officers may use your driving patterns, your performance on roadside tests, and/or your general behavior during the traffic stop to determine if you're intoxicated. It doesn't take a DUI expert to see that this is a highly subjective way of proving one's guilt. Accordingly, your DUI lawyer should challenge this judgment to ensure your rights are fully protected.

But you don't even have to be driving a vehicle to get in trouble in Oklahoma. Just sitting behind the wheel in a parking lot while under the influence could get you an APC. Under these charges, the notion is that you could drive intoxicated if you decided to.

Oklahoma DUI Penalties

As the officer placed you in the back of his vehicle, your mind was probably racing wondering what penalties you could be facing. What follows is a list of guidelines for Oklahoma DUI penalties.

If this is your first DUI conviction, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days. You'll also be behind bars from 10 days to one year, and you'll pay fines up to $1000.

If this is your second DUI offense, your penalties include 1 to 6 years jail time, fines up to $2500, and a 6 month suspension of your driver's license.

On your third DUI offense, your penalties may include the following: 1 to 10 years in jail, fines up to $10,000, license suspension for a year, and an ignition interlock device will be installed on your car.

Oklahoma DUI Lawyer

Make no mistake about it - a DUI in Oklahoma can land you in a world of trouble. You need to find an Oklahoma DUI lawyer who can guide you through this trying time with expertise and personalized service.

At Ticket Void, we make finding the right lawyer for your needs easy. Our directory has listings for all the top Oklahoma DUI lawyers. All you have to do is select the city nearest you from the list below, and you'll have access to the best lawyers in your community. Get the drunk driving defense you deserve today! TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.