Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Ohio Drunk Driving Laws

Despite the unique OVI terminology, Ohio's drinking and driving laws are just as strict as any other state. For this reason, you need to take any OVI/DUI charges with the highest level of seriousness. When it comes to drinking and driving cases, time isn't on your side. If you wait around too long, your license could be automatically suspended and you chance losing your freedom.

That's why you need to find an Ohio DUI lawyer now. DUI's are an intricate branch of the law that requires the insight of a specialist who can dissect all the evidence surrounding your case. With extensive courtroom experience, an OVI lawyer knows exactly what needs to be done to give you a proper defense.

You also need to spend time learning more about Ohio DUI and OVI laws. After all, you're the one facing the extensive penalties. Taking an active interest in your case will help you make the right decisions regarding your defense.

Ohio DUI and OVI Basics

Like other states, Ohio can charge you with drunk driving under two different theories. The first is based exclusively on your blood alcohol content (BAC.) If you're operating a motor vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher, you'll be charged with an OVI. Notice that it doesn't matter how well you're driving or how sober you might be behaving. The BAC is all that matters. While this seems fair enough, the truth is BAC tests aren't completely foolproof. Outside factors might influence the results. That's why it's important to have an Ohio OVI lawyer who'll scrutinize these results for accuracy.

Other cases are based on circumstantial evidence. An officer may determine you're impaired by viewing your driving patterns, making you take roadside tests, and assessing your demeanor during the traffic stop. Clearly, this so called evidence is highly subjective, and your OVI lawyer should vet it for accuracy.

You should also know that Ohio has implied consent laws. What this means is that any licensed driver has given consent to the state of Ohio to test their BAC at any time they deem necessary. If you refuse to submit to testing, your license could be suspended instantly.

Ohio DUI and OVI Penalties

By now, you're probably wondering what penalties you could be facing for your OVI. Even though each case is unique, Ohio does have basic guidelines for OVI penalties. They are as follows.

If you're a first time OVI offender, your penalties could include up to 6 months in jail, fines up to $1000, license suspension of 6 months, and possible alcohol abuse treatment.

If this is your second OVI offense, your penalties include anywhere from 10 days to 6 months in jail, penalties up to $1500, 1 to 5 years license suspension, alcohol treatment, and DUI license plates installed on your car.

For your third OVI offense, you face the following penalties: your license will be suspended for 2 years, the fines go up to $2750, and you'll spend at least 30 days in jail.

Your penalties may also be enhanced if your BAC is .17% or higher. In fact, an excessive BAC often leads to double the jail time.

Ohio DUI and OVI Lawyer

With your freedom hanging in the balance, the necessity for an experienced Ohio OVI lawyer is clear. Their experience will prove invaluable in the courtroom as they analyze evidence to ensure your rights are protected.

Don't leave your OVI case to chance. Use Ticket Void to find the perfect Ohio OVI lawyer for your needs. Simply click the city nearest you to get started today! TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.