Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

North Dakota Drunk Driving Laws

Due to the high number of alcohol related traffic fatalities each year, North Dakota is using strict DUI penalties to put an end to drinking and driving. In light of this, you have to take any DUI charge you receive very seriously. Remember, time is against you in these cases. If you wait too long to take action, your license could be suspended and your freedom taken away.

That's why you need to hire a North Dakota DUI lawyer immediately. Remember, DUI is a highly specific branch of the law, so you need to make certain the attorney you choose has an intimate understanding of these laws. By choosing an expert, you give yourself the best chance of receiving a favorable outcome to your case.

Of course, it's your freedom that's on the line, so you need to take an active interest in your case. This overview is designed to educate you on North Dakota DUI laws so that you can make informed decisions regarding your defense.

North Dakota DUI Basics

North Dakota DUI cases can be tried under two different methods. The first is highly circumstantial. An officer uses evidence such as your driving patterns, your performance on field sobriety tests, and your general demeanor during the traffic stop to determine if youâ?Tre impaired. Obviously, this is very subjective, and it's the job of your DUI lawyer to scrutinize this evidence. An officer's judgment isn't always right.

The other method of trying DUI cases is known as per se laws. What this means is that anyone who operates a motor vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher is considered to be drunk driving. This evidence seems black and white. After all, you're either above the legal limit or you're not, right? Well, not exactly. The truth is BAC testing isn't foolproof, and many outside factors can influence the accuracy of the results.

North Dakota DUI Penalties

During your DUI traffic stop, you probably wondered what consequences you could be facing. While each case is unique, North Dakota has guidelines for DUI penalties. They are as follows.

If this is your first DUI offense, you'll pay a minimum of $250 in fines, and your license will be revoked for up to 180 days. You'll also be placed in an alcohol evaluation to determine if you need treatment.

If this is your second DUI offense, the penalties include a license suspension of one year, a minimum $500 fine, 5 days in jail, community service, and alcohol treatment.

For your third DUI offense, your penalties will include a license suspension of 2 years, a minimum $1000 fine, at least 60 days in jail, and alcohol counseling.

Any additional DUI offenses carry severe penalties with exorbitant fines and extensive jail time.

You should also know that DUI penalties in North Dakota may be enhanced if your BAC registers .18% or higher. Keep in mind that a DUI also will cause your insurance to skyrocket, and you'll also have to pay other fees not included in the penalty guidelines.

North Dakota DUI Lawyers

With the potential for such severe penalties, the importance of hiring a North Dakota DUI lawyer can't be overstated. You don't want to face the judge on your own. By getting help from an expert, you significantly improve your chances of getting a positive outcome to your trial.

And finding the right North Dakota DUI lawyer for your needs is simple. All you have to do is select the city nearest you from the list below, and you'll have access to the top drunk driving defense lawyers in your community. TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.