Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

North Carolina Drunk Driving Laws

'Booze it and lose it.' That's the name of the campaign North Carolina has been running to deter drinking and driving. And as you can tell from the name, the state takes DWI charges very seriously. In fact, North Carolina DWI and DUI laws are some of the strictest found anywhere in the country.

For this reason, finding a DWI lawyer is a must after your arrest. You don't want to handle your case on your own. Remember, DWI is a highly specialized branch of the law. Your case needs the expert guidance a North Carolina DUI lawyer will provide. This will give you the best chance of saving your license and your freedom.

In the meantime, you should also enrich your understanding of North Carolina DWI laws. The more you know about the state's approach to these cases, the better prepared you'll be to make important decisions regarding your case. Get started today by reading this brief overview of North Carolina DWI laws.

North Carolina DWI and DUI Basics

In North Carolina, DWI cases may be tried on two theories. The first theory is known as per se DWI laws. In these cases, body chemistry is the only evidence needed to prove impaired driving. Anyone operating a motor vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher will be charged with a DWI. If you don't know any better, you might think this is a black and white way of trying cases. Unfortunately, the truth is BAC tests aren't always accurate. Outside factors influence the results, and the test results should always be examined for accuracy.

The other way of prosecuting DWI cases in North Carolina has less to do with body chemistry and more to do with appearance. Commonly used evidence includes driving patterns, field sobriety test results, and your behavior during the traffic stop. Based on this evidence, the officer may decide you're intoxicated. Of course, one person's judgment isn't always an accurate assessment. That's why you need a North Carolina DWI lawyer in your corner who can challenge this judgment in court.

It's important to note that North Carolina also prohibits anyone from having an open container in a motor vehicle.

North Carolina DWI and DUI Penalties

By now, you're undoubtedly curious about what penalties you could be facing. What follows are the guidelines for North Carolina DWI penalties.

If you're a first time DWI offender, your penalties include a license revocation for one year, fines up to $2000, community service, and no less than 24 hours in jail.

For your second DWI offense, your license could be taken away for up to 4 years. The fines range up to $1000, and you'll spend from 7 days to one year in jail.

If this is your third DWI conviction, your penalties may include permanent license revocation, fines up to $2000, and up to 2 years in jail.

Any subsequent DWI offenses will be considered a felony, and they'll carry substantial time behind bars.

Contact a North Carolina DWI and DUI Lawyer

You don't want to get caught in the web of the state's DWI campaign by yourself. You need to get help from a North Carolina DWI lawyer immediately. They practice this area of the law on a daily basis, meaning they know all the ins and outs to help you have a proper defense.

At Ticket Void, we make finding the top North Carolina DWI lawyers fast, easy and it's completely FREE. You can get started right now by simply clicking the city nearest you below. Get the defense you deserve today!