Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

New Mexico Drunk Driving Laws

Over the past 10 years, New Mexico has the highest rate of deaths from alcohol impaired drivers. Because of this, the state has enacted strict DWI laws that hit anyone charged with drinking and driving with severe penalties.

That's why you need to hire a New Mexico DUI lawyer as soon as you're arrested for drunk driving. Remember, you have just a short amount of time to request a hearing to save your license, so time is against you. In other words, you need to act right now if you want to save your freedom. The longer you wait, the worse your chances are of receiving a favorable outcome to your case.

Remember, it's your freedom that's on the line. So, don't just rely on your lawyer to make all the difficult decisions for you. Instead, spend some time learning New Mexico DWI laws so that you can take an active interest in your case. A little information can go a long way to having a successful DWI defense.

New Mexico DWI/DUI Basics

New Mexico DWI cases can be prosecuted according to 2 different methods. The first method is based upon visual evidence. In other words, your driving pattern, your performance on the field sobriety tests, statements you make at the traffic stop, and your general demeanor are all things an officer considers to determine if you're impaired. It's not hard to see this is highly subjective 'evidence', and it's important that your lawyer scrutinizes it properly.

New Mexico also has per se DWI laws. To explain, these laws are based solely on your body chemistry. Regardless of how well you're driving or how well you perform on the field sobriety tests, if your BAC is above .08% and you're behind the wheel, you'll be charged with a DWI. As simple as this seems, the fact is BAC tests aren't always accurate. Outside factors can influence test results, so it's crucial to examine this evidence thoroughly for veracity.

You should also know that New Mexico does several DWI stings throughout the year. By setting up random roadside stops, they try to catch anyone who might be driving under the influence.

New Mexico DWI/DUI Penalties

New Mexico DWI penalties are designed to punish repeat offenders. In other words, you'll receive harsher penalties for your third DWI offense than your first.

If this is your first DWI offense, you could spend up to 90 days in jail. Furthermore, you'll pay up to $500 in fines, and your license could be taken away for a year (unless you complete DWI school.)

For your second DWI offense, the penalties include up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and one year license suspension.

Your third DWI in New Mexico will earn you the following consequences: 30 to 364 days in jail, fines up to $1000, and a license suspension up to 10 years.

These penalties are subject to enhancement if your BAC is .16% or higher, you cause bodily injury, or you refuse BAC testing.

Finding New Mexico DWI/DUI Lawyers

With the state cracking down on drunk drivers harder than ever before, you must take your DWI with the highest level of seriousness. Your first step should be to find a lawyer to protect your rights. Remember, not all attorneys practice this highly specialized area of the law. For this reason, you should make certain your attorney is a DWI specialist.

That's where can help. At Ticket Void, we match you with the best New Mexico DWI lawyers in your community, for FREE. You can find your DWI lawyer today by simply clicking on the city nearest you below.