Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

New Jersey Drunk Driving Laws

If you're charged with a DWI or DUI in New Jersey, you don't have time to feel bad for yourself. You need to take action, and you need to do so right now.

The first thing you should do is hire a New Jersey DWI lawyer. Their expertise will prove invaluable in the courtroom as you stand before the judge. Remember, New Jersey doesn't have a jury for DWI cases. It's just you and the judge. That's why you need an expert DWI lawyer on your team to present your case to the judge.

Of course, since it's your freedom that's on the line, you should also take a strong interest in your case by learning more about New Jersey DWI laws. The better understanding you have of these laws, the better informed you'll be about all the factors surrounding your case. Start today by reading this overview below.

New Jersey DUI/DWI Basics

You can be arrested for a DWI in New Jersey under two different principles. The first is based exclusively on your behavior. This includes your driving patterns, your performance on field sobriety tests, and your behavior during the traffic stop. The officer uses their judgment to determine whether or not you're impaired. Clearly, this is a biased method of DWI prosecution, and your DWI lawyer will examine this judgment for accuracy.

The other method of prosecuting DWIs is based solely on your body chemistry. Regardless of how well you might be driving, if your BAC is over .08% while you're behind the wheel, you'll be arrested for drunk driving. While this seems fairly black and white, the truth is BAC tests aren't always accurate. Several outside factors can influence their accuracy, and your attorney should examine these results to ensure they're accurate.

You should also realize that refusal to take the breath, blood, or urine test is admissible as evidence against you in court. Furthermore, it could enhance the penalties you're facing.

New Jersey DUI/DWI Penalties

The penalties for a DWI in New Jersey get harsher for each additional offense. Here are the New Jersey DWI penalty guidelines.

If this is your first DWI offense, your penalties include fines up to $400, up to 30 days in jail, and suspension of your driver's license for 3 months. You may also be placed in counseling at your own expense.

If this is your second DWI offense, your penalties include fines up to $1,000, jail time up to 90 days, loss of license for 2 years, and community service. Your vehicle registration may also be revoked for 2 years if the judge so orders.

If this is your third DWI offense, the penalties are even harsher. The minimum jail time is 6 months, and the fines are in excess of $1,000. Your license will be suspended for 10 years, and an ignition interlock device will be placed on your car once you get it back.

Your penalties may also be enhanced if you refused testing, if you were driving in a school zone, or if you got in an accident.

New Jersey DUI/DWI Lawyer

In light of the penalties you're facing, it's imperative that you find a New Jersey DWI lawyer who understands your needs. DWI is a highly specialized area of the law, so you must make certain your attorney is intimately familiar with these types of cases.

At Ticket Void, we make finding the right lawyer easy. All you have to do is select the city nearest you below, and you'll have access to the top New Jersey DWI lawyers in your area.