Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

New Hampshire Drunk Driving Laws

Drinking and driving is a serious offense that can land you in a world of trouble. New Hampshire DUI laws are designed to curb this activity by enforcing strict penalties on anyone who drives while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In short, New Hampshire has no tolerance for drinking and driving.

For this reason, it's crucial that you contact a New Hampshire DUI lawyer as soon as you get charged with a DUI. You don't want to fight your charge alone. An experienced DUI attorney has the knowledge, experience, and insight to guide you through your case. Remember, your freedom is at stake. Give yourself the best chance of getting a favorable verdict by having an expert in your corner.

To further improve your DUI defense, you need to spend time familiarizing yourself with New Hampshire DUI laws. The information provided in this overview will help you choose the right lawyer for your needs as well as giving you a greater understanding of the gravity of your case.

New Hampshire DUI Basics

The first thing that you should understand about New Hampshire DUI laws is the implied consent rule. This means that by acquiring a driver's license, you give law enforcement your consent to test your BAC at any time they deem necessary. Refusal to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test will lead to harsher DUI penalties.

New Hampshire DUI laws dictate an individual may be charged with drunk driving under 2 circumstances. The first method is based solely on your behavior as a driver. If an officer determines your driving is impaired or your demeanor at the traffic stop is strange, you could be charged with a DUI. In other words, the officer's judgment is the sole basis for your conviction. Obviously, this is subjective, and your New Hampshire DUI lawyer should challenge its veracity.

New Hampshire also has per se DUI laws. In this case, your behavior isn't important at all. The only thing that matters is your BAC. If you were above a .08% BAC while behind the wheel, you're considered drunk by law. It seems simple enough, right? Unfortunately, BAC testing isn't always an exact science, so the test results aren't always accurate.

New Hampshire DUI Penalties

When the officer informed you he was arresting you for a DUI, you probably wondered what punishment you were facing. The guidelines for New Hampshire DUI penalties are as follows:

If this is your first DUI offense, the fines go up to $1,000. Your license could also be suspended from 90 days to 2 years, and you might also be placed in a DUI treatment course.

If you're a second time DUI offender, your penalties include jail time up to one year, fines up to $2,000, 3 years license suspension, and completion of a 7 day treatment course.

On your third DUI conviction, you face the following penalties: up to one year in jail, fines up to $2,000, 7 years license suspension, and 30 day in patient treatment program.

Remember, these penalties may be enhanced if you refused BAC testing during your traffic stop.

New Hampshire DUI Lawyer

By now, you can understand the severity of a DUI in New Hampshire. That's why your next call should be to a New Hampshire DUI lawyer. Keep in mind, not all lawyers specialize in this highly intricate branch of the law. You need to make certain the attorney you hire handles these cases on a daily basis.

That's where we can help. At Ticket Void, we offer a FREE service to match you with the best New Hampshire DUI lawyers in your community. Get started today by clicking on the city nearest you!