Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Nevada Drunk Driving Laws

Despite the appearance Las Vegas gives as the ultimate party town, the truth is Nevada as a whole is very strict on drinking and driving. With tourists streaming through in droves, the state does everything it can to keep the roads safe from drunk drivers. For this reason, they're more than ready to hand out a DUI to anyone they feel is impaired on the roadway.

If you've been charged with a DUI in Nevada, don't live by the 'What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas' slogan. You need to take the charges seriously, and you need to enlist the services of a Nevada DUI lawyer. Their expert guidance will help manage your case properly to make certain your rights are protected at all times.

To further enhance your chances of receiving a favorable outcome to your case, you should take a little time to study Nevada DUI laws. The information you'll learn from this brief overview will come in handy as you select a DUI lawyer and make other crucial decisions regarding your case.

Nevada DUI Basics

In Nevada, you don't have to be drunk to get a DUI. In fact, you don't even have to reach a certain BAC threshold. If an officer determines your driving is impaired by alcohol or drugs, you may be charged with a DUI. They can judge this by viewing your driving patterns, your performance on roadside tests, and your behavior during the traffic stop. As you can tell, this evidence is highly subjective, and your Nevada DUI lawyer should question it during your case.

Nevada also has per se DUI laws. This means that anyone operating a vehicle with a .08% BAC or higher will be automatically charged with a DUI. Remember, it doesn't mater if you appear to be drunk or not. According to the law, .08% BAC or higher equals you being drunk. But these tests arenâ?Tt always accurate, and this evidence should be scrutinized for veracity.

Nevada also has implied consent laws. To explain, the very act of you getting a driver's license means you consent to be tested for BAC at any time an officer demands. If you fail to submit to a blood or breath test, your penalties could be more severe.

Nevada DUI Penalties

In Nevada, there is a 7 year look back period. This means that DUI offenses essentially drop off the record after 7 years, and they wonâ?Tt be considered prior offenses.

Here are the guidelines for Nevada DUI penalties.

If this is your first offense, you face anywhere from 2 days to 6 months in jail the fines go up to $1,175, and your license will be suspended for 90 days. You'll also be required to attend a DUI school that's paid for out of your pocket.

If you're a second time DUI offender, your penalties include 10 days to 6 months in jail, fines up to $1175, loss of license for a year, enrollment in a treatment program, and community service.

For your third DUI offense, you'll be charged with a felony. The penalties include 1 to 6 years in state prison, fines over $5,000, a 3 year license suspension, and a ignition interlock device to be installed on your vehicle.

Find a Nevada DUI Lawyer

In short, Nevada has no tolerance for drinking and driving. But just because you're charged with a DUI doesn't mean you're guilty. You need to find a Nevada DUI lawyer immediately to give you the best chance of saving your freedom.

And finding the right lawyer for your case is easy, with TicketVoid, it's FREE. Just click on the city nearest you below, and Ticket Void will match you with the top Nevada DUI lawyers in your community.