Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Montana Drunk Driving Laws

Montana DUI laws are very strict, and they tackle drunk drivers with furious aggression. That's why it's so important to make sure your DUI defense is strong when you get charged with drunk driving. And to have the strongest defense possible, you need to enlist the help of an expert.

A Montana DUI lawyer will give your case the professional guidance needed to ensure your rights are protected. Don't forget that DUI is a highly specialized branch of law, and not all lawyers are well versed in it. So, you need to find a Montana DUI lawyer who works with these cases day in and day out.

But just hiring a good lawyer isn't enough. You also need to take the time to learn about Montana DUI laws for yourself. The more informed you are, the more capable you'll be to select the right lawyer and to understand the intricacies of your case.

Montana DUI Basics

The first thing you need to understand about Montana DUI law is the implied consent rule. This means that by getting your driver's license, you've given the state your consent to test you for BAC while you're on the road. If you refuse to submit to a BAC test, can result in an automatic license suspension for up to one year.

The other important facet of Montana DUI law is the BAC. Like other states, .08% BAC is considered legally drunk in Montana. So, if you're operating a vehicle with a BAC that meets or exceeds this level, you will be taken to jail.

But this isn't the only evidence used to charge people with a DUI. Driving patterns, roadside tests performance, and physical appearance are all used by officers to judge whether or not you're impaired. But this so called evidence is highly subjective, and a good Montana DUI lawyer will be able to scrutinize it properly.

Montana DUI Penalties

Montana DUI penalties get harsher with each additional offense. In other words, a first time offender will receive a smaller penalty than a repeat drunk driver.

Here are some guidelines for Montana DUI penalties.

If this is your first DUI offense, your license will be suspended for 6 months. Additionally, you could pay up to $1,000 in fines, and you may be required to complete a substance abuse program if the court so orders.

For second time DUI offenders, your driver's license is suspended for one year. Your vehicle could possibly be revoked, you'll face some jail time, and the fines will be even steeper than a first time offense. You'll also be required to complete alcohol abuse treatment, and an ignition interlock device may be installed on your car.

Other things to note about Montana DUI law:

  • A fourth DUI offense is considered a felony
  • Your charges will be enhanced if your BAC was above .18%
  • Refusal to submit to testing could lead to stricter penalties
  • If involved in an accident that injures or kills someone, you could be charged as a serious criminal

Find a Montana DUI Lawyer

Now that you know what you're up against, you can understand the importance of hiring a Montana DUI lawyer. These charges are very serious, but they can be avoided if you have a knowledgeable attorney by your side. Remember, just because you're charged with a DUI, it doesn't mean you're automatically guilty. You're entitled to a fair defense, and you'll get one with a DUI specialist.

Get started today by choosing the city closest to you below. You'll get access to the top Montana DUI lawyers in your area for FREE!