Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Missouri Drunk Driving Laws

Now! That's when you need to take action to save your license and your freedom if you've been charged with a DWI or DUI in Missouri. You only have 15 days to petition to get your license back after being arrested for a DWI or DUI. So, time is of the essence.

And this isn't a fight you want to handle on your own. Judges are particularly harsh on DWI/DUI offenders, so getting professional help is a must. That's why you need to find a Missouri DUI lawyer who will make sure your rights are protected. Their expertise in Missouri DWI/DUI laws will give your case the backing it needs to achieve the verdict you want and deserve.

Since it's your freedom that hangs in the balance, you should also spend time familiarizing yourself with Missouri DWI and DUI laws. The more information you have on your side, the better able you'll be to get a proper DWI defense.

Missouri DWI/DUI Basics

The foundation of Missouri DWI law is the BAC. If you're operating a motor vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher, you're considered to be driving while intoxicated. Sure, this seems simple enough to understand. After all, you're either above the limit or you're not, right?

Well, test results for BAC aren't always reliable. A lot of factors can affect the outcome of a test, and just because the test says your BAC is over .08% doesn't mean it really is.

Again, that's why it's paramount to have a Missouri DWI/DUI lawyer on your side who can analyze all evidence to determine if it's trustworthy or not.

Of course, the legal limit for minors is far below .08%. Basically, if you're under the age of 21 and you have alcohol in your system, you will be slapped with a DWI.

Missouri DWI/DUI Penalties

It's important to note that Missouri has a 5 year look back period. What this means is that any offense that occurs within 5 years of a prior DWI offense is considered when choosing your DWI penalty. However, anything beyond 5 years doesn't count as a prior offense.

Here are the guidelines for Missouri DWI penalties.

If you're a first time offender, you face up to 6 months in jail. You will also have to pay fines up to $500, and your license will be suspended for at least 30 days. Lastly, you could be placed on probation for up to 2 years.

A second DWI conviction means up to one year in jail. It also means fines up to $1,000, probation, and 5 years revocation of your driver's license. Remember, this second offense must occur within 5 years of a prior to be considered an additional offense.

If this is your third DWI offense, you could spend up to 4 years behind bars. Your license will also be revoked for 10 years; you'll pay fines up to $5000; and you'll have to do community service and probation. Note that this third conviction is considered a felony on your record.

Finding Missouri DWI/DUI Lawyers

Since you're facing such severe penalties, it's necessary to hire a Missouri DWI lawyer immediately. An experienced drunk driving specialist will gather relevant evidence to ensure your case gets the personal attention it deserves. Remember, you have rights, and your Missouri DWI lawyer will ensure they're protected.

Finding a lawyer is fast and easy, and with TicketVoid, it's FREE! Just click on the city nearest you in the list below, and you can browse through listings from the top Missouri DWI/DUI lawyers in your community. Get started now!