Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws

It's a situation that happens nightly throughout the state of Minnesota. A cop spots someone whose had a few drinks before hitting the road; he pulls them over; and after some testing, he gives them a DWI. Sounds familiar?

If you've been charged with a DWI or DUI in Minnesota, you probably don't know which way is up. The process is confusing, frightening, and overwhelming. That's why it's so important to find a Minnesota DUI lawyer immediately following your arrest. An experienced Minnesota DUI lawyer has the knowledge and ability to give you a proper defense in court. Remember, you aren't necessarily guilty of breaking Minnesota DUI laws. So, you need to make sure your rights are protected.

You should also take the time to learn more about Minnesota DWI laws. With a little knowledge, you'll have the insight you need to choose the right lawyer and to make the best choices regarding your case. Start your DWI education by reading our overview of Minnesota's drunk driving laws.

Minnesota DWI/DUI Basics

The first thing you need to understand about Minnesota DWI law is the maximum BAC. In 2005, Minnesota lowered the threshold from .10% to .08%. This means that anyone operating a vehicle while having a BAC of .08% or higher will be charged with a DWI or DUI.

However, Minnesota is different from many states because they allow you to consult with a lawyer before submitting to a chemical test to measure your BAC. That's why it's so important to have a DWI/DUI lawyer in your corner from the outset of your case.

You can also receive a DWI if you're driving while under the influence of an illegal drug. In other words, if you're found driving with anything that hampers your ability to drive properly, you may be charged with driving while intoxicated.

Minnesota DWI/DUI Penalties

As soon as the officer said you were being arrested for a DWI, you probably wondered what fate awaited you. The Minnesota DWI penalties are harsh, and they are particularly tough on repeat offenders.

On your first DWI conviction, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days. Your fines will range up to $1000, and you could spend up to 90 days in jail. Plus, you may have to complete some form of DWI training course.

If this is your second DWI conviction, your license will be taken away for a minimum of 6 months. You will also spend up to one year behind bars, and the fines could add up to about $3000 (not including court fees and other costs.)

For your third drunk driving offense, the penalties become very serious. Your license will be suspended for at least a year; you will have to take at least a year of treatment; and your vehicle will be taken away. Again, the fines for this offense will be around $3000.

Any additional DWI offense is considered a felony, and it will carry very harsh penalties.

Minnesota DWI/DUI Lawyer

A DWI in Minnesota is no joking matter. Every drunk driving charge must be taken with the highest level of seriousness. That's why you need to find a Minnesota DWI lawyer who can help you get the defense you deserve. You need to remember that not every lawyer handles these highly specialized cases, so you have to find one who specifically practices DWI law daily.

With TicketVoid, finding the right lawyer is easy and completely FREE. Simply choose the closest city from the list below, and you'll have access to the top Minnesota DWI lawyers in your area. Get your DWI defense today!