Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Louisiana Speeding Laws

Getting a ticket isn't fun for anyone. Not only is it a huge inconvenience, but ticket fines are usually hefty. Most people want to get the whole ordeal over with as soon as possible, so they pay the ticket and move on. However, paying your ticket might be the worst thing you can do. Fighting your ticket might take time, but when you consider the true cost of a speeding ticket over time, it becomes obvious that fighting it is in your best interest.


For one thing, your insurance premiums will go up even if you only have one moving violation on your record. Depending on your insurance company, those increased rates can linger for two or three years, long after you've left your speeding ticket in the rearview mirror. Statistics show that a single speeding ticket can increase your insurance rates as much as 18 percent, which is enough to cause serious financial difficulty for most people. However, in the state of Louisiana, that could be as much as 25 percent all the way up to 400 percent.


It's worth it to fight your Louisiana speeding ticket. Your first two steps should be to learn as much as you can about the Louisiana speeding laws and to hire a traffic lawyer in Louisiana who can help you with your case. The following information should help you with both.

 

Unique License Features

 

Most states use a points system wherein you accrue a certain number of points for each of the various moving violations on the books. However, Louisiana is unique in that it doesn't use a points system. That doesn't mean you're off the hook, though. In fact, if you receive three tickets within a year in the state of Louisiana, your driver's license can still be revoked or suspended. What's more, Louisiana gathers information about your driving record both within and outside the boundaries of Louisiana in order to determine whether or not to issue you a license. They also use that information to decide whether or not to reinstate it. In other words, no matter what state you lived or drove in before, your entire record can be used to help or hurt you in Louisiana.

 

The Points System in Louisiana

 

As mentioned above, Louisiana does not have a points system. However, you do have to make sure that you don't get more than three tickets per year. Otherwise, your license can be suspended. That being said, the lack of a points system doesn't help you escape all possible consequences. You'll still be dealing with increased insurance rates, a diminished driving record, and other consequences from obtaining a moving violation, so it's still critical that you exercise your right to present your case in court.

 

Can You Fight a Speeding Ticket in Louisiana?

 

Yes, you can, and you absolutely should. Fighting your ticket means you have the opportunity to tell your side of the story, present any evidence you have, and have an attorney present your defense for the best possible outcome. Many people find the prospect of hiring a lawyer to be somewhat intimidating. However, you don't have to feel that way. Louisiana traffic attorneys are on your side, and they'll help you through every step of the process so you can obtain the best results possible.


Ticket Void has been working with drivers just like you for years. With just a few pieces of information, we can match you with a Louisiana traffic lawyer who will be perfect for your case. The initial consultation is free, so you have nothing to lose -- except that ticket. Your attorney will be able to tell you whether or not you have a case. If you do, they'll guide you through every step of the process and help you get your ticket voided if possible. Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.