Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Kentucky Drunk Driving Laws

A DUI in Kentucky is a serious offense that requires the assistance of an experienced Kentucky DUI lawyer. The state of Kentucky doesn't take these charges lightly as they're constantly fighting to keep the streets free of alcohol related accidents.

Of course, just because you're pulled over and charged with a DUI doesn't mean you're automatically guilty. There is a lot of evidence surrounding your case, and an experienced attorney will put together these pieces to make sure you receive the best possible defense.

Since DUI charges are so serious, it's worth your time to study this overview of Kentucky DUI laws. With this important information in your arsenal, you'll have a better understanding of your case, and you'll be better prepared to make the right decisions moving forward.

The Basics of Kentucky DUI Law

The first thing you need to understand about Kentucky DUI laws is the legal limit. In Kentucky, if you're driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher, you are in violation of DUI laws. According to 'per se' theory, this means you will be arrested for a DUI. Notice that there is no mention of how you're driving. You could be driving perfectly, and you could ace the roadside sobriety tests. It doesn't matter. If your BAC is at or above .08%, you are considered impaired according to state law.

It's also important to note that Kentucky has implied consent laws. What this means is that by operating a vehicle, you have automatically given consent to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test to determine your BAC. If you refuse to take the test, your license could be taken immediately for anywhere from a month to several years.

Kentucky DUI Penalties

Kentucky has a 5 year look back period. This means that any offense occurring within 5 years of a prior is considered a subsequent conviction.

If this is your first DUI, your license will be suspended for up to 120 days. Other penalties include up to $500 in fines, up to 30 days in jail, 90 days in a substance abuse program, and various level of community service.

For your second DUI offense within 5 years, your license will be taken away for 12 to 18 months. The fines range up to $500, and you could spend up to 6 months in jail. You'll also spend around a year in an alcohol abuse program, and your community service could last up to 6 months.

On your third DUI conviction, your license will be taken away for 2 to 3 years. This time, the fines go up to $1,000, and you could spend up to one year in jail. Additionally, your community service could range up to 12 months.

Any subsequent DUI is considered a felony, and the penalties are even more severe. Your penalties may also be enhanced for several reasons. They include driving 30 mph over the speed limit, having a child in the car, causing an accident, driving in a reckless manner that places others in severe danger, or having an excessive BAC (.18% or higher.)

Kentucky DUI Lawyer

As you can tell by now, Kentucky DUI penalties can change your life forever. That's why it's so important to have a good lawyer by your side. Remember, not every attorney specializes in Kentucky DUI laws, so you need to find an expert.

Thankfully, TicketVoid has simplified the process of finding DUI lawyers. All you have to do is simply click the city nearest you below. You'll then be able to browse through a list of the top Kentucky DUI lawyers in your community. Find your attorney now for FREE!