Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Iowa Drunk Driving Laws

Being charged with an DUI/OWI in Iowa is something that can change your whole life. The affects of an OWI permeate throughout both your personal and professional life.

That's why it's so important to get an Iowa OWI/DUI lawyer in your corner as soon as charges are made. But remember, any old lawyer won't do. You need to find one who specializes in Iowa DUI/OWI laws. With the guidance of a specialist, you give yourself the best chance of receiving a favorable outcome to your drunk driving case.

It's also important to take the time to inform yourself of the Iowa OWI laws. By reading this overview, you'll be better equipped to select the right lawyer, and you'll understand the gravity of your situation.

Iowa DUI/OWI Basics

In Iowa, an OWI conviction hinges on three main points. They must prove you were operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or while having a BAC of .08% or higher. Keep in mind, this must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt in order to get a conviction, so you can see why it's so important to have a lawyer on your team who can gather all the evidence for you.

It's also important to note the wording of Iowa OWI laws. The very definition of OWI (operating while intoxicated) demands that you be in the driver's seat with the engine running. In other words, if you're just sitting in your car without the engine turned on, you can't be charged with an OWI.

Iowa DUI/OWI Penalties

The penalties for drinking and driving in Iowa need to be taken seriously. Just one conviction can turn your whole world upside down, so you need to know what you're up against.

If this is your first OWI, you could face up to a year in jail, and the fines could range up to $1,500 (plus other related expenses.) Your license will also be suspended for 6 months. However, these penalties could be lessened if you were cooperative when you were pulled over and if you didn't have an excessive BAC (.15% or higher.)

If this is your second OWI offense within 12 years, your license will be suspended for 2 years. Plus, you could spend up to 2 years in jail, and the fines range up to $5,000.

Your third OWI offense is considered a felony in Iowa. This will end up getting you up to 5 years behind bars, and the fines go up to $7,500. Additionally, your license will be taken away for 6 years.

You should also keep in mind that all of these offenses require you to undergo a substance abuse evaluation. They also demand an additional $200 fine for the state's restitution fund.

Iowa DUI/OWI Lawyers

By now, it should be clear that you need an Iowa OWI lawyer to help navigate your through this mess. An OWI can't be taken lightly, and it requires skill and experience to be defended against in court. An OWI lawyer understands the ins and outs of Iowa drunk driving laws, and they'll work with you to ensure your rights are protected throughout this process. More importantly, they'll work to get you your license back and to make sure you aren't wrongly convicted of a crime you didn't commit.

To find the best lawyer for your needs, just click on the city nearest you in the list below. You'll get to browse listings from the top Iowa OWI lawyers in your community. This service is 100% FREE