Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Idaho Drunk Driving Laws

Is your whole world spinning out of control because you got arrested for a DUI? Take a moment and remember you deserve a fair defense in a court of law. And here in Idaho, you have just 7 days to request a hearing to save your license, so you need to act fast.

You don't want to go to your hearing alone. Without a proper background in Idaho DUI laws, you stand little chance of having success against a judge looking to set examples of those who drink and drive. That's why you need an experienced attorney who practices Idaho DUI laws day in and day out. Their familiarity with Idaho DUI laws will prove invaluable as they manage your case with skill and personal attention.

However, just because you hire an Idaho DUI lawyer doesn't mean you shouldn't familiarize yourself with Idaho DUI laws. After all, it's your future that's on the line. You need to do everything you can to get the verdict you desire. So, take the time to read this overview of DUI laws in Idaho.

Learn the Basics

The most obvious place to start your DUI education is with the basics. In Idaho, it's illegal to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher. In other words, it doesn't matter how well you might be driving. If an officer finds you driving above the legal limit, you're going to be slapped with a DUI. Furthermore, as a driver in Idaho, you've already given consent for the officer to test your BAC. So, if you refuse to take the blood test, your license will instantly be suspended.

But you need to understand that your BAC isn't the only thing that can get you a DUI. There are also cases where your BAC might be under the legal limit, but an officer can pull you over for dangerous driving patterns. In this case, the way you drive, your performance on the roadside sobriety tests, and your overall demeanor are all pieces of evidence that, based on the officer's judgment, can lead to you receiving a DUI.

Idaho DUI Penalties

The first question most people ask when being charged with a drunk driving is 'What are the Idaho DUI penalties?' The simplest answer is it depends on how many prior convictions you have. Note, Idaho has a 5 year look back period. This means a DUI offense has to occur within 5 years of a previous one to be considered a second or third offense.

Now, if this is considered your first DUI offense, the penalties include up to $1,000 in fines, up to 6 months in jail (more likely just a couple of days), suspended license for 6 months, up to 2 years probation, and an alcohol evaluation.

If this is your second DUI conviction, the fines will reach up to $2,000; you could spend a year in jail, and your license will be suspended for a full year. Plus, an ignition interlocking device will be placed on your car for a year after the suspension, and you'll be on probation for 2 years.

As you can probably guess, the penalties for a third DUI are even tougher. They include up to $5,000 in fines, up to 5 years in prison, license suspended for 1 to 5 years, and felony probation.

Idaho DUI Lawyer

As you can see, the Idaho DUI penalties are serious, and you need to take your case with the level of seriousness. The first step is finding an attorney who understands your needs. Thankfully, it's easy to get started. All you have to do is click on the area nearest you below, and you'll have access to the top Idaho DUI lawyers in your community for FREE.