Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Hawaii Drunk Driving Laws

Despite its laid back demeanor, the state of Hawaii takes driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances very seriously. If you've been charged with a DUI in Hawaii, you need to act with the same level of earnestness. And you need to act quickly.

The first thing you should do after being with a DUI is to contact an experienced DUI attorney in your area. Remember, not every attorney specializes in drunk driving cases. That's why you need to find one with ample experience and a detailed understanding of Hawaii DUI laws. With an expert in your corner, you significantly improve your chances of maintaining your license and of getting a fair verdict in court.

It's also important to learn more about the DUI laws in Hawaii. The better you understand the laws, the better equipped you'll be to understand the factors surrounding your case.

The Nuts and Bolts of Hawaii DUI Law

Perhaps the most important thing to note is that it doesn't matter whether you're a tourist in Hawaii or a resident. The Interstate Driver's License Compact dictates that a DUI in Hawaii will be reported to your home state where your license will be revoked and you'll be punished. In other words, a few drinks on a vacation can quickly turn to nightmare back at home.

Now, onto the specifics of Hawaii DUI Laws. Like other states, the maximum BAC is .08%. If you're caught driving above the legal BAC limit, you'll be charged with a DUI. In this case, it doesn't matter if you're driving perfectly or if you ace the field sobriety tests, a .08% BAC is a DUI regardless.

But that's not the only way you can receive a DUI in Hawaii. If your BAC is .05% or higher and the officer determines your ability to drive is hampered, you can also be arrested for drinking and driving.

Hawaii DUI Penalties

Without a doubt, as soon as the cops arrested you for DUI, you asked yourself 'What penalties am I facing?' In Hawaii, the DUI penalties depend on a few factors, but here are the basic guidelines for DUI consequences.

If this is your first DUI conviction, you face a minimum of 14 hours in a substance abuse program. Your license will also be suspended for at least 3 months, and you could spend up to 5 days in prison while serving 72 hours of community service. Finally, you'll gave to pay fines up to $1,000.

For your second DUI offense in Hawaii, you could end up serving 240 hours of community service or spending 14 days in jail. Plus, you'll have your license suspended for a full year, and the fines will go up to $1,500.

If your third DUI offense happens within 5 years of your first offense, you'll have to pay up to $2,500 in fines. Additionally, you'll be placed in jail from 10 to 30 days. Most notably, you'll lose your vehicle, and your license will be revoked for up to 5 years.

Finding a Hawaii DUI Lawyer

When you get a DUI, you're thrown into a confusing, topsy-turvy world where nothing seems to make sense. An experienced Hawaii DUI lawyer can help eliminate the confusion as they skillfully guide you through this trying time.

And finding an attorney doesn't have to be hard. In fact, the TicketVoid service is free and you'll instantly be matched with the top DUI lawyers in the area. The only thing you have to do to get started is to click on the region nearest you below. Get the DUI defense you need today!