Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Georgia Speeding Laws

Georgia has some of the most beautiful and scenic roads in America, and driving on them is relaxing for many. However, if you see lights in your rearview mirror, it can take a relaxing drive and make it an expensive nightmare in an instant. Obtaining a speeding ticket is costly no matter where you're driving, but the initial ticket fee is only the beginning. Once you consider insurance rate increases, traffic school costs, the points you'll incur against your license, and possible license suspension, depending on your situation, it starts to become apparent just how expensive a Georgia speeding ticket really is.

If you already have a certain amount of points accrued, you could face losing your license. That means you'll have to find additional means of transportation to your job. Not only will those transportation methods likely charge you, but if you have to lose a few days in order to arrange that transportation, you'll be missing out on those wages, too. Plus, your insurance rate increase will last for at least a year or two, which adds up quickly.

You can see why fighting your speeding ticket is likely in your best interest. It's important to know the basics of Georgia traffic law before entering the courtroom so you know what you're up against. However, it's also important to have an experienced Georgia traffic attorney on your side. The following information will help you learn about the law and hire the best possible attorney for your case.


Unique Georgia Driver's License Features and Points System


Georgia laws are among the toughest in the country. For one thing, you can't go to traffic school in order to get a ticket removed from your record. Also, regardless of what the price of your ticket is, you'll have to pay an additional $200 if you're going 85 miles per hour or more on highways, or if you're traveling over 75 miles per hour on a two-lane road. If you accrue just 15 points against your license within two years, your license will be suspended, but if you're under 21 years of age your license can be suspended for a single four-point violation.

Under Georgia's points system, a single speeding ticket will cost you anywhere from two to six points, depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you're going. However, the points system in this state goes far beyond speeding. You'll get dinged six points just for passing a school bus, and if you improperly start a parked car, that's three points.

It's easy to see how you can accrue 15 points against your license without doing anything unthinkable. Just a couple of mistakes could easily land you in hot water, and you could even lose your license. Not only that, but when you get your license back you have to pay a $210 reinstatement fee!

Can You Fight a Georgia Speeding Ticket?


Absolutely, and you should! It's easy to see that the cost of your speeding ticket in Georgia will cost you a lot more than what's printed on the ticket. Between the Super Speeder Law, the harsh points system, the increased insurance rates you can face, and the fact that you can't rely on traffic school to reverse a ticket, you'd be well-advised to fight your ticket. Doing so can save you a lot of time, money, and legal hassle in the long run and save your driving record, too. It's important to consult with a qualified, experienced Georgia traffic attorney so you stand the best chance of winning your case.

Ticket Void has been working with Georgia drivers just like you for many years, helping match those drivers with the best traffic attorney for their case. By entering just a few pieces of basic information, you'll be matched with an attorney in your area who can help you win your case. The consultation is free, so the only thing you have to lose is the ticket -- and all the consequences that come with it. Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.

Georgia's Points and Points Reduction System


According to Georgia's Department of Driver Services, the State's point ranges from 2 to 6 points. A driver with 15 points in a 24-month period will be suspended.

Points are assessed for each conviction pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57(c)(1)(A)

The State assesses no points for speeding convictions less than 15 miles-per hour over the posted speed limit and for convictions of driving 'Too Fast for Conditions', as per O.C.G.A. §40-6-180. No points are assessed against non-residents of Georgia.


Points Reduction


How do I obtain a Points Reduction?

In accordance with O.C.G.A §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver's license up to 7 points once every 5 years.

To qualify for a Points Reduction, you must successfully complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course and present the original certificate of completion to the DDS by mail or in person at one of our Customer Service Centers.

 
Offense Code

Conviction

Points

§40-6-397

Aggressive Driving

6 Points

§40-6-390

Reckless Driving

4 Points

§40-6-163

Unlawful Passing School Bus

6 Points

§40-6-45

Improper Passing on Hill or Curve

4 Points

§40-6-181

Speeding:

15 to 18 mph over speed limit

2 Points

19 to 23 mph over speed limit

3 Points

24 to 33 mph over speed limit

4 Points

34 mph or more over speed limit

6 Points

§40-6-20

Failure to Obey Traffic-Control Device

3 Points

§40-6-2

Failure to Obey Police Officer

3 Points

§40-6-253

Possessing an Open Container of an Alcoholic Beverage while Driving

2 Points

§40-6-248.1

Failure to Adequately Secure Load (except fresh farm produce), resulting in an Accident

2 Points

§40-8-76

Violation of Child Safety Restraint

1st Offense

1 Point

2nd or Subsequent Offense

2 Points

§40-6-241.1

Violation of usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements

1 Point

§40-6-241.2

Operating a Vehicle while Text Messaging

1 Point

§40-6-54

Improper Use of Designated Travel Lane -  4th and Subsequent Offense

1 Point

All Other Moving Violations

3 Points