Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Georgia Drunk Driving Laws

If you've been charged with a DUI, you're probably wondering what's next. You've probably even read different opinions of Georgia DUI laws online, and you know how confusing it all can be.

That's why it's crucial to find a Georgia DUI lawyer whose expertise can guide you through the legal process in the most effective manner. Keep in mind that you need to act fast, because the longer you wait, the likelier it is that your license will get automatically suspended. So, you need to find a Georgia DUI lawyer now!

In the meantime, you should also familiarize yourself with Georgia DUI laws. With a little knowledge, you'll be better equipped to find the right lawyer and you'll have a firmer grasp on the status of your case.

A Brief Overview

In Georgia, it's illegal to operate a vehicle when your ability to drive is hampered with alcohol or drugs. Let's start with the most basic concept. If you have a BAC of .08% or higher, you're in violation of Georgia DUI laws. With this BAC, it doesn't matter how well you may have been driving or how well you did on the roadside tests. The only thing that matters in this instance is your BAC. If it's too high, you will be arrested.

Of course, there are other intricacies to Georgia DUI laws. For instance, if your BAC is .05% or higher and an officer determines you're driving erratically, you can still be charged with a DUI. In this situation, your driving pattern, demeanor, and other clues are just as important as your BAC. Together, these pieces of evidence are what determine whether or not you'll receive a DUI.

It's also worth noting that if you're under the age of 21, it's illegal to operate a vehicle with .02% BAC. That's essentially just one alcoholic drink. In short, if you're a minor, don't drink alcohol.

Georgia DUI Penalties

If you've been hit with a DUI, right now you're probably wondering what penalties you're facing. While each case is unique, the basic guidelines are as follows:

For your first DUI offense in Georgia, you'll be paying fines up to $1,000. You could face jail time up to one year, and you'll be doing 40 hours of community service. Your license will also likely be suspended for one full year.

If this is your second DUI conviction, you'll also pay up to $1,000 in fines. This time, you'll spend at least 90 days in jail and up to one year. Your community service will be for 30 days, and your license will be taken away for about 3 years (possibility of getting it reinstated at 18 months.)

If this is your third DUI offense within 5 years, you're facing some serious consequences. The fines go up to $5,000, and the jail time ranges from 4 to 12 months. You'll also do 30 days of community service; your license will be revoked for 5 years; and an ignition interlock may be placed on your car. There is also the humiliation that comes from having your photo published in the local paper with a description of the offense.

DUI Lawyer in Georgia

Now that you understand DUIs are no laughing matter in Georgia, it's time to get your case together. To do that, you need an experienced DUI lawyer who understands Georgia DUI laws. With their guidance, you may be able to save your license and avoid other penalties. A DUI lawyer will get all the facts together to create a strong case on your behalf.

Get started today for FREE by clicking on the city nearest you!