Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Florida Drunk Driving Laws

In the Sunshine State, drinking and driving isn't tolerated. The state of Florida is particularly harsh on intoxicated drivers. That's why it's so important for you to find a qualified Florida DUI lawyer the second you're arrested. With experienced counsel you can rely on, you have the best chance of getting a fair defense in court.

If you've been charged with a DUI in Florida, you undoubtedly have a lot of questions. This article provides an overview of Florida DUI laws. Not only will this answer many of your questions, but it will also give you the information you need to find the right DUI attorney for your case.

Proving the DUI

In Florida, there are 2 basic ways that you can be charged with a DUI. The first method is highly subjective. If an officer believes your driving patterns aren't proper, he can pull you over under suspicion of DUI. From there, anything from your performance on the field sobriety tests to your general demeanor can be enough to warrant a DUI arrest. Notice, you don't have to reach a certain BAC to be found impaired.

You're probably more familiar with the other method of proving the DUIâ?'the blood test. This has everything to do with body chemistry, and nothing to do with driving performance. Regardless of your condition, if your BAC is .08% or above, you will be arrested for driving under the influence.

Florida DUI Penalties

Of course, your biggest question right now is probablyâ?'what penalties do I face for my DUI? The answerâ?'it depends. Florida DUI penalties get more severe with each additional DUI conviction.

For those being charged with their first DUI, the penalties include fines up to $500, 50 hours of community service, up to one year on probation, up to 6 months of jail time, vehicle impounded for 10 days, and driver's license suspension for at least 6 months.

If this is your second DUI conviction, expect more severe penalties. They include the following: fines up to $1,000, jail time up to 9 months, vehicle impounded for 30 days, and driver's license suspension for up to 5 years.

Is this your third DUI in Florida? If so, the penalties are even tougher. In addition to fines up to $5,000, you could spend a year in jail. Your car will be impounded for approximately 3 months, and your license could be suspended for up to 10 years.

Any subsequent DUI pretty much spells the end of you as a driver. Your license will be permanently suspended, and you'll spend up to 5 years in jail.

Other Factors that Enhance DUI Penalties in Florida

  • If a minor is in the car with you while you're driving under the influence, your penalties will be more severe.
  • If you're BAC is excessive (over .20%) the penalties will be even tougher.
  • If you injure or kill someone while driving under the influence, you could be facing a lengthy stint in jail.
  • If you're under the age of 21 and driving with any alcohol on you, your license is automatically suspended for at least 6 months.

Florida DUI Lawyers

With the potential for relentless DUI penalties, the importance of finding an experienced DUI attorney in Florida can't be overstated. Your future hinges on the lawyer you decide to represent you. Make sure you choose the right one.

Let us help. At TicketVoid, we specialize in matching you with the perfect legal representation for your needs for FREE. To get started, simply click on the city nearest you below. You'll then have access to the top DUI lawyers in your area. Protect your rights by getting in touch with a Florida DUI lawyer today!