Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Delaware Speeding Laws

If you were pulled over for speeding in the state of Delaware, you probably feel that the ticket is nothing more than a somewhat expensive inconvenience. However, speeding tickets are much more than an inconvenience, and they can cost you much more than the price listed on the ticket itself. For one thing, a speeding ticket can increase your insurance rates by at least 20%. Some people in certain states have reported increases as high as 300% for a single speeding ticket. No matter how much your ticket costs you, you will be paying far more in insurance fees. What's more, those fees stay elevated for at least two years in most states. Additionally, while you can opt to take defensive driving courses, you have to pay to take those courses. You will be paying for the courses out of your own pocket.

 

It's clear that the initial fee you have to pay for your ticket is just the beginning. Once you start to calculate all of the long-term cost of a Delaware speeding ticket, it's obvious that fighting your ticket is an attractive option. If you do choose to fight your ticket, there are a couple of things you'll want to do in order to have the best chance of success when you go to court. First, make sure to familiarize yourself with the traffic laws and Delaware. Secondly, make sure to consult with a Delaware traffic lawyer who is experienced with the system and can help you obtain the best possible results.

 

Unique Delaware Driver's License Features

 

In Delaware, the points that you'll accrue will stay on your record for the first year after you commit the speeding violation. After a year, your points are deduced by half, and after two years the points start to fade away. However, the point system in Delaware is fairly unique. There are certain violations that Delaware punishes more harshly than other states do.

 

The Points System in Delaware

 

In the state of Delaware, you will receive points against your license depending on the kind of infraction you were charged with. If you were speeding between one and nine miles per hour over the posted limit, you will have two points added to your record. If your rate of speed was 10 to 14 miles per hour over the posted limit, that's four points. If you were driving 15 to 19 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, or higher than that, you'll have five points added to your license. However, you can also have six points added to your license for passing a stopped school bus, as well as for reckless driving and aggressive driving. If you accrue eight points against your license, the DMV will send you a warning letter. At 12 points, you have to go to driver training school. At 14 points, your license will be suspended for a mandatory for months, and you can't get it reinstated again unless you've completed a behavior modification course within the last two years.

 

Can You Fight a Delaware Speeding Ticket?

 

Yes, and in most cases you should. Make sure that you have the best chance of obtaining a beneficial result when you go to court. Hiring a Delaware traffic attorney can help you obtain the best possible results. Only a qualified Delaware traffic lawyer with experience can help you navigate the legal waters and resolve your case as quickly as possible and with the most beneficial solution.

 

For years, TicketVoid has been helping drivers in Delaware just like you fight their traffic ticket and obtain the best outcome for their particular situation. With just a few pieces of information, we can match you with a Delaware traffic lawyer who can help you fight your case and even get your ticket overturned. The initial consultation is free, so you have nothing to lose. Get started today, and exercise your right to fight.