Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Delaware Drunk Driving Laws

If you've been charged with a DUI in Delaware, it could send your whole world into a state of chaos. Everything from your personal to your professional life hinges on the outcome of your case. That's why it's crucial that you have the right Delaware DUI lawyer by your side to guide you through the legal process. Remember, not all lawyers are intimately familiar with Delaware DUI laws. For this reason, you need to find an experienced DUI attorney who practices this niche day in and day out.

It's also important for you to act quickly. In Delaware, you have just 15 days to request a hearing to save your driver's license. This means you need to find your attorney now!

You should also take the time to educate yourself on Delaware DUI laws as this will help you choose the right lawyer and understand the intricacies of your case. Read this overview to get started.

Delaware DUI Laws Basics

In Delaware, there are 2 basic ways you can be charged with a DUI. The first method relies solely on the officer's judgment. To clarify, if an officer sees you driving in an erratic fashion, he may pull you over on suspicion of DUI. At this point, he'll consider your driving patterns, field sobriety test performance, and general disposition to determine if you're driving while impaired from a foreign substance. Take note, you don't have to reach a certain BAC in this situation to be charged with a DUI. It's all based on the officer's opinion.

Of course, the other way to determine if an individual should receive a DUI is their BAC. Regardless of your driving patterns or if you ace the field sobriety tests, if your BAC is .08% or higher, you're going to jail. In this instance, your body chemistry is the only prerequisite needed for charging you with a DUI.

Delaware DUI Penalties

Now that you understand the possible reasons for your DUI arrest, it's time to discuss the potential penalties you're facing.

If this is your first offense, you face fines in excess of $1000. Furthermore, you could be placed in jail for up to 6 months; your license will be suspended for one full year; and you'll be required to complete an alcohol education course at your own expense. Also, it's important to point out that these penalties will be even more severe if your BAC is over .15%.

For your second DUI offense, the fines could go up to $2300. You'll spend anywhere from 60 days to 18 months in jail, and your license will be suspended for 2 years.

On your third DUI offense, the fines could be as much as $3000. You'll be under arrest for 3 months to 2 full years. Again, your license will be suspended for 2 years (maybe more depending upon your BAC.)

Are you seeing the pattern here? The more times you're busted for a DUI, the stricter the penalties will be. That's why you need to have a great DUI attorney by your side who can guide you through this complex legal system.

DUI Lawyers in Delaware

If you've been charged with a DUI, the time to find a lawyer is now. A knowledgeable Delaware DUI lawyer could be the difference between you sitting behind bars or you having your license.

Of course, if you've never hired an attorney before, it can be difficult to find someone you can trust. That's where we can help. At TicketVoid, we match you with the top DUI attorneys in your area for FREE. All you have to do to get started is simply click the city below nearest you. Get the defense you deserve today!