Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Colorado Drunk Driving Laws

At first glance, you might think DUI laws are the same in every state. Sure, there are some similarities across the board, but each state has their own unique intricacies in their drunk driving laws. Colorado is one such state. Colorado DUI laws are interesting because they don't just include DUI; they also have punishment for driving while ability impaired (DWAI.) Anyone with a BAC over .05 can receive a DWAI (more on that later.)

Since Colorado DUI laws are even more complex than other states, it's important for you to get an experienced Colorado DUI lawyer the second you get arrested for drunk driving. A seasoned DUI lawyer in Colorado has the experience and the familiarity with the law to guide you through your DUI/DWAI case.

Remember, in Colorado you have just 7 days after your arrest to get a hearing with the DMV to save your license. This means you have to act fast to get the ball rolling for your DUI/DWAI defense.

What Makes Colorado DUI Laws Different?

The best place to begin this discussion is to point out the main idiosyncrasies of Colorado drunk driving laws. As mentioned earlier in the article, Colorado DUI laws also include DWAI. A DWAI may be given to any individual operating a motor vehicle with a BAC between .05% and .07%. Sure, it might be the lesser of the 2 offenses, but DWAI still carries hefty penalties.

Colorado also has DUI per se laws. What this means is it doesn't matter if an individual aces the roadside sobriety tests and drives perfectly. It's all about the BAC. Regardless of any other circumstances, if an individual has a BAC over .08%, he can be charged with a DUI.

What are the DUI Penalties in Colorado?

If you've been charged with a DUI/DWAI in Colorado, you're certainly interested in what penalties you could be facing. Here are the basic guidelines for DUI/DWAI penalties in the Centennial State.

Let's begin with DWAI penalties. If this is your first DWAI offense, you face fines up to $500. You will also spend anywhere from 2 to 180 days in jail, while serving up to 48 hours of community service. Lastly, you will receive 8 points toward your driver's license being suspended.

For your second DWAI offense, the penalties are even stiffer. This time, you face fines up to $1000. You'll spend from 45 days to one year in jail, while serving up to 96 hours of community service. Finally, your license will be suspended for a full year.

A DUI is a more severe conviction in Colorado. For your first DUI, you could pay fines up to $1000. Plus, your jail time will range from 5 days to 1 year with up to 96 hours of community service. Your license will also be suspended for a full year.

If this is your second DUI arrest, your fines could go up to $1500. You'll spend a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of one year in jail. The community service requirements go up to 120 hours, and you'll receive 12 points toward your license being suspended.

There are other things to consider. If you get a DWAI with a previous DUI conviction, the penalties could be more serious. There are many variables that affect your final punishment. That's why it's so important to find a DUI lawyer in Colorado who can construct the best defense possible on your behalf.

Talk to a Colorado DUI Lawyer

If you've been charged with a DUI, the time to act is NOW. Don't waste another second thinking about how upset you are over your DUI/DWAI. Find an experienced lawyer today who understands Colorado DUI laws. Click on the city nearest you to get started! TicketVoid is a FREE service to the driver.