Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed
Speeding, Red Light, Traffic Sign and More

Alabama Drunk Driving Laws

When you get a DUI in Alabama, you aren't just facing one case; you're involved in two cases. The moment you're arrested for DUI, you are a part of a criminal case and a driver's license case. Sound confusing? It is. That's why you need to get the help of an attorney who understands Alabama DUI laws and who has experience defending individuals like you.

Of course, a little education goes a long way to helping you understand the complexities of your DUI case. This article provides an easy-to-understand overview of Alabama DUI laws, so that you can better know what you're up against.

It Starts with the Legal Limitâ?¦

In many ways, the legal blood-alcohol-concentration limit is the foundation of Alabama DUI laws. If you're driving a personal vehicle, the maximum BAC is .08%, but if you're operating a commercial vehicle, the limit is just .04%. Furthermore, if you're driving a school bus or daycare vehicle, you can't have a blood-alcohol-concentration over .02%.

What if I wasn't Even Driving?

In Alabama, you don't have to necessarily be driving a car to receive a DUI. The state has what's called â?oactual physical controlâ? laws. Essentially, this means that if you're in a position to where you could drive the car, you could receive a DUI. For instance, if you're in a parking lot sleeping in your car while under the influence, you could be arrested for a DUI. Or, if you're just sitting in the car without driving it and you're above the legal limit, you could receive a DUI.

Now, do you see why it's so important to have an Alabama DUI lawyer who can sort out all these intricacies?

What about Alabama DUI Penalties?

Alabama doesn't mess around when it comes to DUI penalties. Seemingly each year, the penalties for driving under the influence get more severe.

If this is your first DUI conviction in Alabama, it's typically classified as a misdemeanor. You could be sentence to up to one year in jail, and your fines will range from $600 to $1,200. Furthermore, you'll be ordered to complete a substance abuse program, and your license will be suspended for about 3 months.

If this is your second DUI in the last 5 years, the penalties are more severe. You face a minimum of 5 days and a maximum of one year in jail. The fines are heftier at anywhere from $1,100 to $5,100. You'll once again have to attend the court ordered substance abuse program, and your license will be suspended for a full year.

For your third violation, your license will be suspended for 3 years. You'll have to serve a minimum of 60 days and a maximum of one year in jail. It's still classified as a misdemeanor, but again the fines are steep--$2,100 to $10,100.

Any DUI after that could be disastrous. It will be classified as a Class C felony, and it could result in up to 10 years in jail. Fines range from $4,100 to $10,100, and your license is suspended for 5 years.

Why You Need to Act Now

You don't have time to sit around debating how to handle your DUI in Alabama. You have to act now! You only have 10 days after your arrest to file for a case to save your driver's license.

If you need help finding an Alabama DUI lawyer to guide you through your DUI case simply click on the city closest to you below, and you'll have access to lawyers who understand all the details of DUI laws in Alabama.