Philadelphia Speeding Ticket Laws
Do you need a good Philadelphia traffic ticket attorney? Philadelphia speeding ticket laws are based on a points system that the whole state of Pennsylvania adheres to. The accumulation of too many points will result in the suspension of your driver’s license. The points system is as follows:
- Speeding 6-10 mph over the limit equals two points
- Speeding 11-15 mph over the limit equals three points
- Speeding 16-25 mph over the limit equals four points
- Speeding 26-30 mph over the limit equals five points
- Speeding 31 mph over the limit equals five points and an automatic hearing
Obviously drivers want to avoid these charges as much as possible. If you have recently gotten a speeding ticket you should consider employing a Philadelphia speeding ticket attorney.
Philadelphia Suspended License Laws
Philadelphia places strict suspended license laws on drivers to deter them from unsafe driving practices. If you receive too many speeding tickets or moving violations within a given period of time you may have your license suspended. The first time you exceed six points you will be required to pass a written safety exam. If you exceed six points a second time you will receive a 15 day suspension and the third time you receive six points you will earn you a 30 day suspension. To prevent the possible suspension of your driver’s license consult with a Philadelphia suspended license attorney to defend you in court.
Philadelphia Reckless Driving Laws
If you are convicted of a reckless driving charge it means that you are guilty of driving a vehicle in a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. A violation of this law may result in a fine of $200, up to 90 days in jail and three points on your license.
Philadelphia DUI Laws
Pennsylvania has different DUI laws than most states in that they have a three-tier system to deal with DUIs. The tiers are distinguished by Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) and are as follows:
BAC between .08% and .099%
- For first time offenders you’ll be charged with $300 in fines, probation for up to 6 months, and be ordered to attend alcohol highway safety school.
- For second time offenders, your penalties include license suspension for one year, five days to six months in jail, fines up to $2,500, alcohol treatment, and an ignition interlock device will be installed on your vehicle.
- Your third DUI offense will include one year license suspension, up to two years in jail, fines up to $5,000, alcohol treatment, and an ignition interlock device on your car for one year.
BAC between .10% and .159%
- For the first offense at this BAC level, your penalties include one year license suspension, up to six months in jail, fines up to $5,000, and mandatory alcohol treatment.
- For your second DUI offense, your license will be suspended for one year, jail time for 30 days to 6 months, fines up to $5,000, and your vehicle will have an ignition interlock device installed on it.
- For your third offense, your license will be suspended for 18 months, jail time from 90 days to five years, ignition interlock, and up to $10,000 in fines.
- For fourth time offenders 18 month license suspension, jail time from one year to five years, ignition interlock, and an alcohol assessment.
BAC .16% or above
- Your first offense penalties include the following: suspension of license for one year, up to six months in jail, fines up to $5000, and mandatory alcohol treatment.
- For your second offense, your penalties include 18 month license suspension, up to five years in jail, fines up to $10,000, and ignition interlocking device placed on your car as well as attendance of Alcohol Highway Safety School.
- Third time offenders face the following penalties: 18 month license suspension, one to five years in jail, fines up to $10,000, and an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.