Fairfax Speeding Ticket Laws
There are several reasons you might need a Fairfax speeding ticket lawyer. The state of Virginia is known for having some of the highest speeding ticket fines in the country. The state does this to deter drivers from speeding and to promote safe roads. In addition to the hefty fines that are assessed, Fairfax also imposes points on your driving record that can result in a license suspension and increased car insurance rates. The points system is as follows:
- Speeding 1 to 9 mph over the limit three points
- Speeding 10 to 19 mph over the limit four points
- Speeding 20 mph or more over the limit six points
Drivers are encouraged to seek the help of a Fairfax speeding ticket attorney to avoid the suspension of their license.
Fairfax Suspended License Laws
Speeding tickets will give you points on your license as will moving violations. If you accumulate too many points on your license within a given period of time Virginia will suspend your license. The laws are as follows: accumulating 12 or more points in 12 months or 18 or more points in 24 months means you must enroll in a driver improvement clinic or risk suspension. If you get 18 or more points within 12 months or 24 points within 24 months you will have your license suspended for 90 days and you have to attend a driver improvement clinic as well as be subject to six months’ probation. If you are facing suspended license charges contact a Fairfax suspended license attorney today.
Fairfax Reckless Driving Laws
Fairfax County is especially ruthless on reckless drivers and is known for throwing the book at them. If you are convicted of a reckless driving charge you face a criminal charge including up to $2,500 in fines and one year in jail. It is always recommended that you employ a Fairfax reckless driving attorney if you are facing these charges.
Fairfax DUI Laws
As with most penalties in Virginia DUI violations also carry serious consequences. First time offenders are subject to fines starting at $250, one year license suspension and up to one year in jail. Second time offenders are subject to a minimum fine of $500, up to one year in jail, community service, the installation of the ignition interlock system and a license suspension of three years. Third time offenders are subject to an indefinite license suspension, fines of at least $1,000, possible forfeiture of vehicle and longer jail times. The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit in Virginia is .08 percent and drivers who are in extreme excess of this limit are subject to even stricter penalties. Drivers facing Fairfax DUI charges are encouraged to seek professional help by Fairfax DUI attorneys who can help defend them in court.