Dallas Speeding Ticket Laws
Who is the traffic ticket lawyer Dallas drivers trust? Dallas, TX uses a points system to prevent drivers from speeding and accidents from occurring on their roads. Each speeding ticket or moving violation that you receive results in accumulation of points on your driver’s license. Generally speeding tickets are given two points and speeding tickets that result in accidents are assessed three points. Dallas makes a lot of money on speeders who are repeat offenders. For every driver who has six points on their license within a 36 month period they are given a $100 per year surcharge and an additional $25 charge for each point over six. Dallas drivers are encouraged to seek legal help from a Dallas speeding ticket attorney to avoid these high fees.
Dallas Suspended License Laws
In addition to the heavy penalties repeat offenders have to face Dallas drivers also have to be weary of losing their driving privileges. Points on your license that add up can cause Texas to suspend your license. Receiving four moving violations within 12 months or seven within 24 months will result in a license suspension. If you are facing suspended license charges consider employing a Dallas suspended license attorney to avoid suspension.
Dallas Reckless Driving Laws
Dallas reckless driving convictions impose large penalties on drivers and should be avoided if possible. If you are found guilty of a reckless driving charge in Dallas you are punishable by fines up to $200, up to 30 days in jail, or both fines and jail.
Dallas DUI/DWI Laws
Because the state of Texas is a leader in the amount of accidents and deaths related to DWIs they pose strict penalties on those convicted. The Texas Blood Alcohol Limit (BAC) is .08 percent and is even stricter on underage drinkers. First time offenders are subject to fines up to $2,000, 72 hours to 180 days in jail, and the suspension of their driver’s license from 90 days to a year. Second time offenders are subject to fines up to $4,000, 30 days to one year in jail, and a 180 day to two year license suspension. Third time offenders may receive fines up to $10,000, two to 10 years in jail and 180 days to two years license suspension. If you are facing these charges it is important that you consult with a Dallas DUI/DWI attorney who is experienced with defending drivers in your position.