Cleveland Speeding Ticket Laws
Cleveland drivers have to be weary of getting Cleveland traffic tickets and speeding tickets as the fines imposed can be heavy and may result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Cleveland’s traffic point system is the same as the rest of Ohio and is explained below:
|In area where speed limit is under 55 mph:|
|1-5 mph over speed limit||no points|
|6-29 over the speed limit||2 points|
|30+mph over speed limit||4 points|
|In areas where speed limit is over 55 mph:|
|1-10 mph over speed limit||no points|
|11-29 mph over speed limit||2 points|
|30+ mph over speed limit||4 points|
Drivers who receive speeding tickets not only get points on their license but also risk increases in their car insurance rates. If you have received a speeding ticket you have options. Consult with a Cleveland speeding ticket attorney to help fight your speeding ticket.
Cleveland Suspended License Laws
Cleveland is subject to the same suspended license laws as the rest of the state. If you accumulate 12 points within a two year period Ohio may suspend your license. Obviously this can have negative consequences on your life and should be avoided as much as possible. If you are facing suspended license charges consult with a Cleveland suspended license attorney for help.
Cleveland Reckless Driving Laws
Reckless driving charges in Cleveland are extremely strict and can include fines, points on your license and possible license suspension. For first-time offenders fines may be assessed up to $150, four points on the license and the possibility of a driver’s license suspension. Second time offenders can face jail time up to 30 days, fines up to $250, four points on their license and possible license suspension.
Cleveland DUI/OVI Laws
In Ohio DUI laws are also called Operating Vehicle under Influence (OVI) laws and are subject to strict penalties. Ohio has a .08 percent limitation on Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) and drivers convicted face the following penalties: first time offender’s penalties include jail time up to six months, fines up to $1,000, license suspension of six months and possible alcohol abuse treatment. Penalties are significantly higher for drivers who are repeat offenders or have a BAC of .17 percent or higher. If you are facing DUI charges you are strongly advised to consult with a Cleveland DUI attorney to help defend you in court.