Delaware Speeding Ticket Lawyers:
Delaware Speeding Laws
Speeding tickets. They're the bane of every driver's existence. No matter how safe a driver you might be, the chances are that you'll end up with a speeding ticket at some point during your lifetime. While your first instinct might be to simply accept the ticket, pay the fine, and move on, this isn't always in your best interest. See, Delaware speeding laws are based on a points system that tacks penalties onto your license each time you receive a violation. Get a certain number of points in a 2 year period, and your license will be suspended. And believe us, it only takes a few violations to reach this threshold, so even the safest driver could be in danger.
That's why you should consider fighting your speeding ticket. Remember, not only does a speeding ticket carry the fine printed on it, but it also means higher insurance rates. Add in the points tacked onto your license, and a single ticket can start to get pretty expensive.
Fighting your speeding ticket in Delaware is easy. It starts with educating yourself on Delaware speeding laws and finding the right speeding ticket lawyer for your needs.
Delaware Driver's License Suspension
In Delaware, your driver's license can be immediately suspended for one month if you're caught driving 25 mph over the posted speed limit. The length of the suspension can be increased by a month for every additional 5 mph over the 25 mph threshold (e.g. 2 month suspension for driving 30 mph over the limit, 3 month suspension for driving 35 mph over the limit.)
Statute that Governs Speeding in Delaware
Delaware speeding laws are outlined in state law section 21-4168.
Delaware Driver's License Points System
Delaware's driver's license points system is the backbone of the state's speeding laws. In theory, the points system is designed to deter repeat speeding offenses.
Here is a general outline of the point penalties assigned to each moving violation:
- Driving 1 to 9 mph over the limit-2 points
- Driving 10 to 14 mph over the limit-4 points
- Driving 15 to 19 mph over the limit-5 points
- Driving 20 mph or more over the limit-5 points (could result in instant suspension)
- Reckless driving-6 points
- Running stop sign or red light-3 points
- Most other moving violations-2 points
If you receive 12 points within 2 years, you'll be asked to attend a driving course. Should you fail to comply, your license will be suspended for 2 months. Receive 14 points and your license will be suspended for 4 months. For every additional 2 points, your license will be suspended another 2 months.
Can I Fight My Delaware Speeding Ticket?
Yes, you can fight your Delaware speeding ticket. Don't make the mistake of assuming you simply have to roll over and face the consequences. Face your speeding ticket head on, and beat those charges in court. Remember, spending a little time fighting your speeding ticket now could save you a lot of money and trouble later on down the road. Get started by finding the right speeding ticket lawyer in Delaware to handle your case.
Speeding Ticket Lawyer in Delaware
Perhaps nothing is more important to your speeding ticket case than the lawyer you choose. Always remember that speeding laws are highly intricate and not every lawyer is well versed in them. To give yourself the best chance of receiving a favorable outcome in your case, make sure you choose a speeding ticket lawyer in Delaware with a successful track record at defending those accused of speeding.
Thankfully, you don't have to spend a lot of time and energy finding the right speeding ticket lawyer in Delaware. All you have to do is use the Ticket Void lawyer listing service. It's simple: Just click on the city nearest you from the list below, and you'll have access to the top speeding ticket attorneys in your community. Get the peace of mind that comes with knowing you'll choose the perfect lawyer for your needs. Get started today!